History of England
United Kingdom

How many countries make up Great Britain?



User Avatar
Wiki User

Three countries make up Great Britain. This island known as Great Britain includes England, Scotland and Wales. This is not to be confused with the United Kingdom, which is Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It is also not to be confused with the British Isles, which refers to the two main islands of Great Britain and Ireland, and their smaller islands, and some other islands like the Isle of Man.
England, Scotland and Wales
Three - England, Scotland and Wales. When Northern Ireland is included, the country then gets its full internationally recognised name of 'The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland'.