answersLogoWhite

0

  • Firearms
  • Pregnancy Tests
  • Periods and Conception
  • Mummies

How many days must a person wait to take possession of a handgun after being approved for purchase?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2009-02-17 03:57:08

Best Answer
Copy

21 The answer is, it depends on where you are. In some states, you can leave immediately with the handgun (as long as it's not a class 3 item). Here in Tennessee, you can sometimes go into a gun store and be gone in 20 or 30 minutes with gun in hand. They perform a TBI background check, but it normally only takes a few minutes.

2009-02-17 03:57:08
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Can a 18 year old buy a handgun?

Federal law says you must be 21 to purchase a handgun from a dealer. SOME states may permit a person between 18 and 21 to purchase a handgun from a private seller that is NOT a licensed dealer. This varies from state to state- most do not, but check the law in YOUR state- and check the state law for POSSESSION of a handgun by a person under 21.


Can a convicted felon live with a person that has a handgun in Texas?

No they are not, cause that is concurrent possession.


How long do police have to charge a person with possession of a handgun?

As long as it takes to investigate and gather enough evidence to support the charge.


Can an 18 year old posses a handgun under any legal means?

Yes, in the U.S. you must be 21 to purchase or own a handgun, but someone under 21 can possess a handgun, at least in most states, as long as the person is engaged in a legal activity and is in legal possession of the gun (has permission to have it). Most, if not all shooting organizations have junior divisions and/or allow minors to participate.


How does an 18 year old legally purchase a handgun in Arizona?

If Arizona law allows someone under 21 to own a gun, they have to recieve it as a give or purchase it from an individual. Federal law requires a person to be 21 to purchase a handgun from a dealer.


Is there a Texas state law prohibiting the purchase of a handgun by a person under 21 years old or is this a federal restriction?

It depends on what you mean. Federal law says you cannot purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer unless you are 21 or older. You can, however, purchase a handgun from an individual if you are under 21 if the state you are in allows it. Some do, some don't.


Can a person with a clean record buy a handgun in new york state?

Generally speaking, yes. Any person with a "clean record" can purchase a handgun in any state. I don't know specficially what New York's requirements are, but generally speaking, you fill out a form and pass a background check. You can only legally purchase a handgun within the state in which you reside.


Legal age for for hunting with handgun?

In most U.S. states, there is no specific minimum age to use a gun for legal purposes, but a person does have to be 21 to legally own or purchase a handgun.


Is a felon in possession of a handgun a violent or non violent crime?

Generally speaking, simple possession of the handgun is a non-violent crime. Violent crime is normally defined as a crime where someone is hurt, or where force is used on another person. Note, however, depending on the local laws and the circumstances, it may still be a felony.


Can a 19 year old own a handgun in Virginia?

Yes. Virginia law does not prohibit a person at least 18 years of age from POSSESSING a handgun. However, FEDERAL law will not permit you to PURCHASE a handgun OR handgun ammunition until you are 21. Virginia law does permit certain person UNDER 18 to possess a handgun in limited circumstances (permission of parents, instructional class, etc)


Is it against the law to have a hand gun at 19?

It depends on the circumstances. Federal law requires a person to be 21 to purchase a handgun or handgun ammo from a dealer, however, in some states, a person under 21 can purchase a gun from an individual. Besides that, it is not illegal for someone under 21 to POSSESS a handgun under certain circumstances, such as target competition or hunting, or self defense.


Age of handgun possession in Colorado?

The minimum age is 18. HOWEVER- there are exceptions, which include hunting, training, and competition WITH PERMISSION OF PARENTS. In that case, there IS no minimum age. Here is the Colorado law:18-12-108.5. Possession of handguns by juveniles - prohibited - exceptions - penalty.(1) (a) Except as provided in this section, it is unlawful for any person who has not attained the age of eighteen years knowingly to have any handgun in such person's possession.(b) Any person possessing any handgun in violation of paragraph (a) of this subsection (1) commits the offense of illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile.(c) (I) Illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile is a class 2 misdemeanor.(II) For any second or subsequent offense, illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile is a class 5 felony.(d) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is taken into custody by a law enforcement officer for an offense pursuant to this section shall be taken into temporary custody in the manner described in section 19-2-508, C.R.S.(2) This section shall not apply to:(a) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is:(I) In attendance at a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course; or(II) Engaging in practice in the use of a firearm or target shooting at an established range authorized by the governing body of the jurisdiction in which such range is located or any other area where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited; or(III) Engaging in an organized competition involving the use of a firearm or participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group under 501 (c) (3) as determined by the federal internal revenue service which uses firearms as a part of such performance; or(IV) Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license issued to such person pursuant to article 4 of title 33, C.R.S.; or(V) Traveling with any handgun in such person's possession being unloaded to or from any activity described in subparagraph (I), (II), (III), or (IV) of this paragraph (a);(b) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is on real property under the control of such person's parent, legal guardian, or grandparent and who has the permission of such person's parent or legal guardian to possess a handgun;(c) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is at such person's residence and who, with the permission of such person's parent or legal guardian, possesses a handgun for the purpose of exercising the rights contained in section 18-1-704 or section 18-1-704.5.(3) For the purposes of subsection (2) of this section, a handgun is "loaded" if:(a) There is a cartridge in the chamber of the handgun; or(b) There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the handgun, if the handgun is a revolver; or(c) The handgun, and the ammunition for such handgun, is carried on the person of a person under the age of eighteen years or is in such close proximity to such person that such person could readily gain access to the handgun and the ammunition and load the handgun.


Age to use a handgun?

It depends on where you are. I'm unaware of any U.S. federal law requiring a minimum age, but I have heard that some states have laws to that effect. You have to be 21 or older to OWN or PURCHASE a handgun, but if the person under 21 has legal possession of it, it is legal to shoot it. Some shooting ranges have age requirements, but some don't, and most shooting organizations have junior divisions.


Can you as a consealed Handgun License purchase a gun for brother?

It depends. You cannot legally purchase a gun for another person if the other person call legally own a gun. HOWEVER, the following is commonly misunderstood: you can legally purchase a gun for another person as long as the purchase is being made for a legitimate gift.


If a regular person in Missouri get caught with a concealed gun will that person get in trouble?

If it's a handgun and the person has a handgun carry permit valid in Missouri, no. If the person does not have a handgun carry permit, of if it's something other than a handgun, like a rifle or shotgun, then probably.


Can you possess a hand gun in Florida?

You can possess a handgun in all 50 states. There are rules that govern this such as concealed carry, etc. But there is no law barring you from owning a handgun. You can legally purchase a handgun in Florida, and under certain conditions you may carry it concealed about your person.


If handgun purchase from Oklahoma dealer is denied can it be purchased legally at a gun show?

It depends, but generally, the answer is no. If you failed a background check, you are a prohibited person. You could probably buy a handgun at a gun show, but it wouldn't be legal.


How can a 18 year old legally own a hand gun in Ga?

There are two different sets of laws, Federal and State. Federal law, which applies anywhere in the US, requires that a person be 21 to purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer. However, Federal law does not address POSSESSION of a firearm, other than by persons forbidden to have any gun (convicted felons, etc). GEORGIA law requires that you be 18 to purchase a firearm. An 18 yr old cannot buy a handgun from a dealer, but COULD be given a handgun, or buy one from a private citizen of the same state.


How old do you have to be to buy a handgun in Iowa?

Federal law imposes the following restrictions aimed at younger persons: A person must be 21 years of age to purchase a handgun or handgun ammunition, and 18 years of age to buy a rifle or shotgun or ammunition, from a retail firearm dealer. (GCA, 1968)


Legal age to own a handgun in Oregon?

To purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer, or from a venue at which 25 or more guns are available for sale, you must be 21+ To purchase handgun ammunition, you must be 21+ To get a CHL in Oregon, you must be 21+ To own a handgun in Oregon, you must be 18+ Private party sales are legal in Oregon, provided that both parties are legally able to purchase / possess the firearms in question (not a felon, above the legal age, etc.). In theory, then, a person above the age of 18 could legally purchase a handgun as part of a private party sale. They just cannot carry it, or transport it loaded.


In what states can parents give their child a handgun?

It depends on how old the child is and what you mean by "give." In the U.S. a person has to be 21 or older to own or purchase a handgun, but people under 21 can possess handguns for various legal activities, for instance, target shooting or hunting.


How old do you have to be to posses a handgun?

It depends on where you are. In the U.S. a person of any age can possess a handgun under limited circumstances. A person under the age of 18 can possess a handgun for sporting purposes or target shooting (or self defense).


Can a person with no record living with a felon own a handgun?

The answer to the question is yes. However, if the handgun is kept in the house with the felon, the felon cannot have access to the gun, which means basically the gun must be locked up where the felon cannot access it, or the non-felon must always keep it in his or her possession where the felon cannot access it.


How old do you have to be to purchase a handgun in Maryland?

21 years old. It is illegal to even possess one if under 21 unless you are doing one of the following: (i) the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm or ammunition solely designed for a regulated firearm if the person is: 1. under the supervision of another who is at least 21 years old and who is not prohibited by State or federal law from possessing a firearm; and 2. acting with the permission of the parent or legal guardian of the transferee or person in possession;( ii) the transfer by inheritance of title, and not of possession, of a regulated firearm; (iii) a member of the armed forces of the United States or the National Guard while performing official duties; (iv) the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm or ammunition solely designed for a regulated firearm if the person is: 1. participating in marksmanship training of a recognized organization; and 2. under the supervision of a qualified instructor; (v) a person who is required to possess a regulated firearm for employment and who holds a permit under Subtitle 3 of this title; or (vi) the possession of a firearm or ammunition for self-defense or the defense of others against a trespasser into the residence of the person in possession or into a residence in which the person in possession is an invited guest.


What is mere possession?

Mere possession the physical control or possession that a person has on an object. This type of possession has nothing to do with who lawfully owns the object.