Best Answer

Leukemia is the general term used to describe a number of malignant diseases where the blood-forming organs produce increased numbers of leucocytes. Leucocytes are the colorless cells in blood and lymph etc. and which are important in fighting disease. CHRONIC AND ACUTE: In broad terms, leukemia is classified according to how fast it progresses: * In Chronic leukemia the cells develop slowly and the patient's condition gradually deteriorates over the years. * In Acute leukemia the blood-forming cells reproduce and accumulate very rapidly. If not treated quickly, death can ensue within a few months. TYPES There are about a dozen or so different types of leukemia classified according to the specific type of white/clear blood cell that is multiplying abnormally.

Main cell types affected and the term used for leukemic conditions of those cells: * Bone marrow lymphocytes (immune system cells) > lymphocytic leukemia. [cancers of other lymphocyte cells which develop in lymph nodes, spleen and organs other than bone marrow, are called lymphomas. These types of cancerous cells behave differently from those described as lymphocytic leukemias] * If either the granulocytes(bacteria-destroying cells) or the monocytes(macrophage-forming cells, i.e. large white cells which engulf foreign matter) are affected > myelogenous, or myeloid, leukemia. There are four possible permutations of the above classifications, and are the most common types of leukemia:

# Acute Myelogenous Leukemia (AML) # Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML) # Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL) # Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) SUB-TYPES Medical science then identifies further sub-types, according to cancerous cell characteristics/features. * AML: To represent eight sub-types of AML the French-American-British classification system uses symbols M0, M1, M2 etc * CML is sub-classified according to three phases of development, 'chronic', 'accelerated' and 'blast' phases. * ALL is identified by the source of the cell, e.g. from the bone-marrow source being called ALL (B-cell), thymus-sourced being ALL (T-cell) etc. And the appearance of the cell falls into one of three L (Lymphocoytic) types, known as L-1, L-2 or L-3. * CLL is classified by staging, i.e. the stage the cancer has reached, as determined by cell appearance. There can be three or five stages, depending on which classification system is used. MORE DETAIL

Chronic leukemias can be further differentiated. e.g hairy cell leukemia (HCL), prolymphocytic leukemia (PLL), T-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia (T-CLL), and chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML). Of course it is possible to further differentiate the type of leukemia by identifying the specific DNA displacement/malfunction that is causing a particular cell to be malignant and which is being perpetuated in cell development and reproduction. For more information see Related links below this box.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-01-03 16:50:38
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Where did the Jews immigrate from during World War 2

Reducing your risk of chronic disease is what type of health benefit

What are ways to fix obesity

A sentence that uses dentist in it

See all cards
59 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many main types of leukemia are there?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many types of leukemia are there?

There are 4 types of leukemia, they are: Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL), Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML), Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL), Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML).

What is the difference between the different types of leukemia especially what makes hairy cell leukemia different from others?

There are many different types of leukemia. Some are acute and some are more chronic. Hairy cell leukemia is one of the worst types. It matures faster than most.

Does cancer attack the immune system?

Leukemia is a type of cancer that attacks the immune system. There many types of Leukemia.

What is the form of cancer that affects the bone marrow?

The main cancer that affects the bone marrow is Leukemia. There are many other unwell known types such as: myeloma.

What types of treatment are available to combat leukemia?

There are many treatments one might undergo when battling Leukemia. In addition to different types of radiation, one might also take a multitude of medications.

What are the different types of circulatory disorders?


Is leukemia extinct?

LEUKEMIA IS NOT EXTINCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Many people have leukemia and many are also getting the disease!

What is the purpose of leukemia stains?

Leukemia stains are done to diagnose and classify leukemia. Blood contains red cells, several varieties of white cells, and platelets. Cancerous overproduction of any one type of cell produces one of many types of leukemia.

Causes of lymphocytic leukemia?

There are so many reason for the cause for leukemia. But the main cause is viral infection from the virus Human T-Lymphotropic Virus (HTLV).

What are leukemia stains?

Leukemia stains are laboratory tests done on bone marrow or blood samples to help diagnose specific types of leukemia.

What are the four types of cancer?

The five main types of cancer are carcinoma, sarcoma, melanoma and lymphoma and leukemia. Carcinoma is the most common and start in the skin lungs, breast or pancreas.

Is there a cure for Leukemia?

Some types of Leukemia seem to be able to be cured.As of today, there is no cure of leukemia. However, there is drugs available to help you live with the disease.

People also asked