Baseball History
Major League Baseball (MLB)

How many professional baseball teams were there in the original league?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-16 18:24:31
2015-07-16 18:24:31

The Cincinati Red Srockings were the first openly professional team in the 1860's. Prior to that it was considered "unsportsmanlike" to pay players to play what had been, at one time, a completely amateur game. The first professional League was the National Association which began play in 1871 with teams in Philadelphia, Chicago, Boston, New York, Washington, Troy NY, Fort Wayne IN., Cleveland and Rockford IL. The National League began play in 1876 after the demise of the Nat. Ass. the previous year with the teams : The Chicago White Stockings, The St.Louis Brown Stockings, The Hartford Dark Blues, The Boston Red Caps, The Louisville Grays, The New York Mutuals, The Philadelphia Athletics and The Cincinati Red Stockings.


Related Questions

User Avatar

There are no MLB major league professional baseball teams in Wyoming. There is a minor league baseball team called the Casper Rockies, a Pioneer League team.

User Avatar

There are 30 professional Major League Baseball teams. There are 14 teams in the American League, and 16 in the National League.

User Avatar

Yes, Mexico has professional baseball, but does not have a Major League baseball team.

User Avatar

Not a professional baseball team. Tennessee does have little league, minor league, and college baseball teams, however.

User Avatar

There are 30 teams in MLB and around 100 or so minor league teams.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.