How many states border the Pacific Ocean?

Sovereign States that border the Pacific Ocean

Canada, USA, Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Chile, New Zealand, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Taiwan, China, Japan and the Russian Federation.

Western States of the United States of America:

Washington, Oregon, California, Alaska, Hawaii

Four states on the East of Australia:

Tasmania, Victoria, New South Wales, and Queensland

Other countries may have districts or provinces that border the Pacific Ocean as well. Then we have to ask: Is a Province a State by just another name?

Actually there are three continents that do not touch the Pacific Ocean, if you accept that the Southern Ocean is a separate Ocean. The continents are Antarctica, Europe and Africa. Otherwise it is Europe and Africa.