Asked in
History of the United States
US Constitution
US Government

How many states had to ratify the constitution before it went into effect?


User Avatar
Wiki User
February 19, 2016 2:34PM

According to Article VII, the Constitution was required to be ratified by 9 of the 13 states before it went into effect. All 13 eventually ratified, the last two being North Carolina (1789) and Rhode island (1790). In June 1788, New Hampshire fulfilled the requirement for ratification set forth in Article VII by becoming the ninth state to approve.

The Constitution didn't become law until it formally replaced the Articles of Confederation on March 4, 1789, however.