How many states were in the union in 1865?

36 States Delaware Friday, December 7, 1787 ‡ Pennsylvania Wednesday, December 12, 1787 ‡ New Jersey Tuesday, December 18, 1787 ‡ Georgia Wednesday, January 2, 1788 ‡ Connecticut Wednesday, January 9, 1788 ‡ Massachusetts Wednesday, February 6, 1788 ‡ Maryland Monday, April 28, 1788 ‡ South Carolina Friday, May 23, 1788 ‡ New Hampshire Saturday, June 21, 1788 ‡ Virginia Wednesday, June 25, 1788 ‡ New York Saturday, July 26, 1788 ‡ North Carolina Saturday, November 21, 1789 ‡ Rhode Island Saturday, May 29, 1790 ‡ Vermont Friday, March 4, 1791 Kentucky Friday, June 1, 1792 Tennessee Wednesday, June 1, 1796 Ohio Tuesday, March 1, 1803* Louisiana Thursday, April 30, 1812 Indiana Wednesday, December 11, 1816 Mississippi Wednesday, December 10, 1817 Illinois Thursday, December 3, 1818 Alabama Tuesday, December 14, 1819 Maine Wednesday, March 15, 1820 Missouri Friday, August 10, 1821 Arkansas Wednesday, June 15, 1836 Michigan Thursday, January 26, 1837 Florida Monday, March 3, 1845 Texas Monday, December 29, 1845 Iowa Monday, December 28, 1846 Wisconsin Monday, May 29, 1848 California Monday, September 9, 1850 Minnesota Tuesday, May 11, 1858 Oregon Monday, February 14, 1859 Kansas Tuesday, January 29, 1861 West Virginia Saturday, June 20, 1863 Nevada Monday, October 31, 1864