International Football
FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup 2010

How many teams compete in the FIFA World Cup?



User Avatar
Wiki User

For the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, there were 208 countries competing for the final 32 spots in the World Cup.

The final 32 teams compete in the FIFA World Cup and are split into 8 groups of 4.

The FIFA World Cup, occasionally called the Football World Cup, but usually referred to simply as the World Cup, is an international football competition contested by the men's national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body.