How many towns were destroyed by the black Saturday bushfires?

The towns destroyed or severely damaged in the February 2009 bushfires were:

  • Marysville
  • Kinglake
  • Narbethong
  • Hazeldene
  • Kilmore
  • Yea
  • Churchill
  • Narre Warren

Other towns and regions affected, but not severely damaged, include:

  • Beechworth
  • Flowerdale
  • Horsham
  • Coleraine
  • Weerite
  • Bunyip
  • Dargo
  • Wilson's Promontory and the West Gippsland area

Part of the city of Bendigo was also badly affected by separate fires, still adding over 30 to the death toll.