Law & Legal Issues

How many trial courts are there in California?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-08-04 20:48:48
2011-08-04 20:48:48

There are 58 superior, or trial, courts located in each of the California's 58 counties.

User Avatar

Related Questions

Trial courts and appellate courts. Many jurisdictions divide trial courts by subject matter or gravity.

State trial courts can be called a variety of different things. One common term used by many states to define their trial courts is Superior Courts.

If you mean federal circuit courts of appeal, there is one: the US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, which includes California along with Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington. See the first related link below. If you mean California state courts, there are no circuit courts in California. The only types of courts in California are Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, and Superior Courts. There is one California Supreme Court and six Courts of Appeal. See the second related link below. Superior Courts are the trial courts. There is a Superior Court in each of the 58 counties, but many counties have more than one location where Supreme Court is held, so there are actually over 300 separate Superior Court locations. The third related link below, CourtReference Guide to California Courts, has location information for all California trial courts (and has the same info for every state).

Trial courts in the California state court system are called Superior Courts. Unlike many states, California only has one type of trial court. This means that all cases, from small claims, to divorce, to misdemeanors, to felonies are heard by the Superior Courts. Each county in California has its own Superior Court. Within a county, there may be multiple Superior Court locations. In larger counties, there are separate divisions within a Superior Court for different types of cases. For more information on California Superior Courts and information on your local Superior Court, visit the California Court Directory related link.

Federal trial courts are the United States District Courts.

Trial courts were the 1st courts before the facts of a case are decided.

The U.S. District Courts are exclusvely trial courts.

There are an uncountable number of tennis courts in California; tennis is very popular in California

No. Appellate courts hear appeals from trial courts, not fresh trials.

The District courts are often described as the Chief Trial court of the state, and as group these courts are called the general trail courts.

There are federal and state appellate courts. Federal appellate courts handle appeals from federal district (trial) courts, and state appellate courts handle appeals from state trial courts.

Local trial courts may appear in a township or locale. They may also be under the jurisdiction of the county.

Lower courts, meaning trial courts (courts of original jurisdiction) or lower appellate courts.

NO general-jurisdiction trial courts are considered courts of record.

Aside from the US Supreme Court, the other courts in the Judicial Branch are:US District Courts (trial courts)US Court of International Trade (trial)US Court of Appeals Circuit Courts (intermediate appellate courts)There are many other federal courts outside the Judicial Branch.

State trial courts are typically referred to as circuit courts. The United States Supreme Court is known as the highest court in the land.

Trial courts :D, I think :(

District courts: A state of federal trial court.

California Superior Courts, California Court of Appeals, California Supreme Court

Trial courts . . .Added: . . . which are criminal courts of original jurisdiction

In federal court, the district courts can have jury trials. If the opposing parties in a suit agree to waive their right to a jury trial, the judge may preside and enter a verdict. In state court, the answer is less straightforward because each state has its own court structure. States often have specialized courts specifically for family law, probate, or small claims, but generally there are 3 basic levels in a state court system: 1. Supreme Court (the highest court in the state) [no jury] 2. Appellate (or appeals) courts [no jury] 3. Trial courts [jury]. The trial courts are called by different names in different states so it's confusing (for example, in California trial courts are called 'superior courts' and in Alabama they are called 'circuit courts.')

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.