How many types of bone marrow transplant are there?

There are three types of bone marrow transplant procedure. One of the three is called an Autologous bone marrow transplant. With an Autologous bone marrow procedure, doctors take the persons own bone marrow and freeze it before chemo then reintroduce the marrow into red blood cells after chemo or radiation. The second type is Allogeneic. In an Allogeneic marrow procedure the marrow is taken from a matching marrow donor. The third type is called Umbilical cord blood transplant. With an umbilical cord blood transplant, there can be a wider variety of donor as the cells are still considered immature.