Bones (TV Series)

How many well defined seasons does Japan have?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-06-09 10:20:56

It is a common Japanese myth, based on Chinese literary

traditions, that Japan has four seasons. In fact, it has five (5).

The so-called 'rainy season', (or 'Tsuyu', etc.), which in most of

the country lasts from mid-June to the end of July, is in fact the

tail-end of the Asian monsoon. Temperatures drop from late May, and

the frequency and intensity of rain gradually increase, until, by

late July, hot and heavy rain is falling. The 'Tsuyu' is definitely

a distinct season, which every year causes deadly landslides. This

is most people's least favourite season.

'Summer proper' ('honkakuteki na natsu') does not begin until

the end of July or early August. Summer --with its heat and

typically Asian high humidity-- then continues right though

September and even into early October. In central and western

Japan, Autumn leaves do not turn or fall until late

October-November, and some remain on the trees until Christmas. It

follows that the other seasons are likewise skewed, Winter not

beginning until late December, Spring lasting through to early May,

the Tsuyu following, and --once again--Summer not beginning until

late July-early August.

All of the four 'normal' ones.

Roughly timed

Winter Nov-Jan

Spring Feb-April

Summer May-July

Autumn Aug-Oct

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.