answersLogoWhite

0

  • Law & Legal Issues
  • Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
  • Oregon
  • Quebec

How old do you have to be before you can legally move out of your parent house with your child?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-09-13 04:46:41

Best Answer
Copy

In the state of North Carolina it is 18 but I'm not for certain if you have a child but i would imagine you could as long as you were able to take care of the child since you are a parent yourself.

Answer18 inless you get emancipated

A pregnant minor or a minor who is a parent is not automatically emancipated in any US state with the exception of Wisconsin.

In all other states the minor must be of the legal age of majority which is 18 in all states, the exception of Nebraska where it is 19, or be legally emancipated according to existing state laws.

2011-09-13 04:46:41
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: How old do you have to be before you can legally move out of your parent house with your child?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Is it legal for a parent to make a 16 year old child get out of the house?

It is illegal for a parent to force a minor child to move out. The parents are legally responsible for the child until the age of 18.


Can an abused child living with both parents legally get her abuser parent to be removed from their house?

Yes if authorities found out


If your parent is mentally abusive and you are 17 could you legally move into your boyfriend's house without your parent having a say?

If your parent is mentally abusive and you are 17 could you legally move into your boyfriend's house without your parent having a say?


How do you legally put an adult child out of the house if one parent agrees to let the adult child stay?

I believe you could get a restraining order against an adult child if he/she is threatening you or your personal property.


Who has rights to the child if one parent leaves the house where the child lives?

The second parent or closest relative


Can a parent remove their 19 year old child from the house if they choose to?

If the child has reached the age of majority in the state where they legally reside and is not physically disabled, yes. In most states, this is 18 (with a few exceptions). However, if the child has been paying rent, the parents would have to legally evict them to do so.


If a parent tells a child to get out of their house can that parent then call the child in as a runaway?

Well, they can but they would be lying. The parent is kicking them out of the house, the child is not running away; sooner or later the police (if the parent did call the child in as a runaway) would probably figure out the child did not runaway and the child was kicked out. If the parents kicked them out, then why would they call the child in as a missing if they didn't want them?


When can a parent legally kick their 18 year old out of the house?

On their 18th birthday.


Can a parent force a pregnant teen to leave the house when that parent has legal custody?

A pregnant teen (or any teen) can be kicked out of a house. However, if they are not put in alternate housing (foster care, etc), if anything happens to that child the legal guardian is still legally responsible.


If a parent has lifetime rights to live in the house given to the child can the parent sell the property in North Carolina?

If it was given to the child, then no.


Can you legally ask your child to move out of your house if she is not a minor?

if your child is not a minor,then you can ask them to move out.


Can a parent in Michigan legally kick there high school student out of the house at 18yo?

Yes, they can tell them to leave. Once the child is an adult, age 18, the parents are no longer legally responsible for them. They can even charge them with trespassing if they don't leave.


When is a parent not responsible for a drinking child?

when the parent isn't home, and the child is alone in the house. In some cases it's child neglect, if the child records or has some kind of documentation of he/she doing the act, the parent can go to jail, or the child.


Can an 18 year old child get child support from a parent after leaving the house on their own in NY?

No. Child support is owed to the parent or other caretaker with whom the child lives.


Can a parent kick an 18 year old out of the house legally in New York State.?

Yes, they can tell them to get out of their home. Once the child is an adult, age 18, the parents are no longer legally responsible for them. They can even charge them with trespassing if they don't leave


Can a parent charge a 15-16 year old house rent?

if he has a job then the parent should charge rent at the age of 18I don't think legally the child has to pay him but if he's not 18 then it doesn't matter because legally the child doesn't own that money anyways the parents do so if you want to call it rent its really (legally) the parents money anyways so anything the kid did get leftover is actually a bonus... but that doesn't mean the parent isn't a total D*ck face for being like that.


When can a child legally move out of his parents house?

With parental consent or by emancipation.


If a child has been given a house with a parent having a lifetime right of occupancy and parent has to go to a nursing home can the child sell the property?

The parent must consent to the sale.


How do you legally remove a 14 year old minor from your home in Virginia when you are their guardian?

If you want to give up parental rights to your child you can contact the CPS and they will put him in foster care unless the other parent is willing. They will then see if they can find another relative to take him and if not he will remain on foster care. If you are the parent you will pay child support to the state. You have to be sure of this since they will not give you parental rights back and you will no longer have rights to your child. Paying child support is all. If you mean just remove him from your house you can not do this with a child you are legally obligated to care for. See if grandparents or the other parent can relieve you for awhile if that is what you need.


Can a legal guardian put a 17-year-old out of the house without providing support?

No, the child must by 18 before they can do that legally.


My daughter is 15 years old and has a 6 month old child of her own. Can she legally move out of my house because she has a child or is she still considered a minor.?

No she cannot legally move out of the house until she is 18 or older, even if she has a child of her own.


Can you legally move out of your parents house at 16 years old?

Moving out of a parents house at the age of 16 legally, depends on where the person resides. In most states, a child cannot legally move out of a parents home because they are not of the states age of majority. A child can move out at 16 if they are legally emancipated by the courts.


Can an adult child sue a parent for smoking in the house?

Unfortunently you can not in our society.


What happens to a parent if they kick a minor out of the house?

They can be charged with child abandonment.


When can a parent kick a child out of the house?

Once they are 18, if they are any younger it is considered child neglect. Or if your child is emancipated you can do it anytime.