answersLogoWhite
Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

How old do you have to be to legally move out of your parents' house?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2012-06-05 05:13:37

If you live in the US, the legal age to move out without parental permission is 18 in every single state, unless you've been emancipated in some manner such as marriage (which requires parental consent) or court decree (which is rarely granted).

123
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

How old do you have to move out of your parents house?

You have to be 18 to legally move out of your parents house. However, your parents can sign a form that says that you can leave legally.


How old can you be to legally move to your dads from your moms?

Legally your parents can keep you in the house until you are 21, but if your parents sign a special paper you can move out when you are 18


Can a 16 year old move out of their parents house without their parents consent in west Virginia?

No a 16 year old can not legally move out of their parents house, even if they have permission. A 16 year old is still considered a minor and would need to be emancipated to legally move.


Can a 17 yr old move out of parents house and move into a friends house legally?

Yes if you have parental permission.


Can a 16 year old move out of their parents house without their parents consent in IA?

Not legally.


How old can a girl be to legally move out of her parents house in the state of Texas?

17


Can a 17 yr old move out of her parents house legally in Michigan?

Yes!


Can a 16 years old legally move out of his parents house in UK?

No,of course not.


Can you legally move out of your parents house at 16 years old?

Moving out of a parents house at the age of 16 legally, depends on where the person resides. In most states, a child cannot legally move out of a parents home because they are not of the states age of majority. A child can move out at 16 if they are legally emancipated by the courts.


Can a 15 year old move out of parents house and live with another adult?

No. Your parents are legally responsible for you.


How old do you have to be in order to move out of your parents house in the state of minnesota?

In Minnesota, you cannot legally move out of your parents house until you are 18. The exception would be if the parents gave consent.


Can you move out of your parents house at 16 in New York without their permission?

NO. You need to be 18 years old to legally move out of your parents house. Even if you have permission or not.


How old does a child have to be in British Columbia to legally move out of his or her parents' house?

16


How old do you have to be to move out of your parents' house in Wisconsin?

legally, 18 years of age


How old do you have to be to move out of your parents' house legally in Missouri?

The legal age of majority is 18.


Can a 17 year old girl move out her parents house legally in Florida?

yes certainly


Can a seventeen year old legally move out of one parents house to to the others in the state of Kentucky?

no


Can a 17 year old girl move out of her parents house and in with her 21 year old boyfriend in California?

not legally


In the state of Wisconsin can a pregnant 16 year old legally move out of there parents house and in with the baby's father whom is 18 Without parents consent?

legally the law is you can move out at 16 withg your parents consent


Can a 15 year old legally move out of her parents house with permission in the state of Oregon?

Yes, with permission, she can move out. The parents are still responsible for her though.


Can a 17year old legally move out of their parents house in Illinois?

No, they cannot move without permission in Illinois. Either the parents have to consent or there is a court order.


How can a 17 year old female legally move out of her parents house in new york?

By having parental consent to move out.


In Texas can a seventeen year old move out of their parents house legally?

A child under the age of 18 cannot move out of their parents' house without the parents' consent. They could petition the court for emancipation.


Can you move out of your parents house when your 18 if you're still in school?

If your 18 years old you can move out. Even if you are still in school, you can legally move out.


Can a 17 year old move out of his or her house legally in Colorado?

If yoy are 17 and you really want to move out, talk it out with your parents but legally no hang in for another year when you are 18