answersLogoWhite

0

  • Child Safety
  • Children and the Law
  • Indiana

How old does a child have to be to stay at home in the state of Indiana by themselves?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2007-10-05 01:54:10

Best Answer
Copy

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.

2007-10-05 01:54:10
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

How old does a child have to be to stay home by themselves in the state of Kentucky?

84


How old does a child have to be to stay at home in the state of Ohio by themselves?

18


If a child is not living at home at the age of 19 do they still get child support in the state of Indiana?

No that person is an adult and child support stops at 18.


How long can a child of 11 years be left at home alone in the state of Maryland by themselves?

How long can a child of 12 years old be left at home alone in the state of Maryland?


Is there a specific distance from home in the state of Indiana where a child can be considered a runaway if he crosses it?

No. The statute has more to do with your not residing in your parents/guardians home.


What age can a child stay home alone by themselves in CA?

A child can stay home by themselves at the age of 12.


In the state of Indiana if a child is one month away from 18 and the mom kicks her out can the mom make her come back home?

Yes because the child is still an minor.


What is legal age a child can be left alone overnight in Indiana?

Residents of Indiana who have a child should know the state does not have an age minimum for leaving your child home alone. However, it is important to consider the exact length of your trip as well as how responsible your child is before deciding whether or not they can handle this responsibility.


Where was George Bush home state?

Indiana


How old does a child have to be in Indiana to be left home alone?

12


Which state home to the Indy 500 auto races?

Indiana is home to the indy 500 races in speedway indiana


What state does Indianapolis play there home games?

Indiana


Where is the Indianapolis Colts home state?

Uh.....Indiana?


If a seventeen-year-old leaves home in Indiana for Missouri can the police return the child to Indiana?

Yes.


What is the legal age a child can stay at home alone in Bloomington Indiana?

It is not legislated. The child needs to be safe. 12


How old does a child need to be to be left alone at home legally in the UK?

how old does a child have to be to be left at home by themselves in the UK


What is a legal age a child can be left home alone?

A child can legally stay home by themselves at 12 years of age.


What state is home for Jeremy Camp?

The home state of Jeremy Camp is Indiana. He was born in Lafayette, Indiana on January 12, 1978. Jeremy Camp is a Christian musician who sings a mixture of ballads and rock.


What is the legal age a child can stay home alone in IN?

Age is not specified in Indiana. It apparently depends on the child's capabilities to take care of themselves. I would suggest talking with your local law enforcement agency.


What is the legal age a minor can leave home in the state of Indiana?

There is no legal age for a minor to leave home. They can legally leave home when they are no longer a minor. The age of majority in Indiana is 18.


Is it illegal for a parent to give their own minor child alcohol in their own home in the state of Indiana?

No, it isn't illegal, but you should definetely not drink alchohol unless you are 19 or older!!!


What age can a child stay home by themselves in Texas?

12 in canada


How old does a child need to be to stay home by themselves in Maryland?

16


What is legal age a child can stay at home by themselves in KY?

3


What age can a child stay at home by themself in WV?

The child must be 7 years of age or older to stay home by themselves in WV