How old does a teenager have to be to move out of their parents' home in North Carolina?
In North Carolina you have to be 16 years or older to move out of your parents' house, but you have to be in school and hold a part-time job as well.
In NC, unless you have been emancipated by the court, you are considered to be a minor until you're 18, so until that time your parents have the authority to decide where you can/can't live. You can, however, petition the court for early emancipation.
so, what is the answer? 16...or 18? I talked to an officer today and he said that as long as the child is 16, the only thing a parent can do is call the law to find out where the child is. The officer can find the 16 year old and report back to the parents on the where-about of the child....BUT CANNOT make the 16 year old go back HOME!!!!!! Lexington NC
i would say 16 but there are stipulations (i.e. becoming emancipated). to view these you can go here:
if you need help clarifying those i should be able too. if you don't want to go through that then 18