Asked in Divorce and Marriage LawEmancipation and Ages for Moving OutAge of Consent & Underage Relationships
Divorce and Marriage Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships
I am 16 and I live in the UK and I want to get married but my parents are dead and you need permission from them if you are under 18 so how do I get married?
Asked in Divorce and Marriage Law
Can 16 year old get married in Kansas?
The minimum age to get married is 15 in Kansas. This legislation can be waived only by a district court judge who thinks that getting married at such a young age would be in that individual's best interest. Teens who are 16 or 17 years old need to obtain one of the following in order to get married in Kansas: Obtain parental or legal guardian permission and judicial consent. Receive permission from both parents or legal guardian. If the minor's parents are dead, or if there is no legal guardian, permission must be received from a judge.
Where in North America can you get married under the age of 18 without parent consent?
Asked in Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
In Arkansas how old do you have to be to drop out of school with or without permission from your parents?
Asked in Marriage, Celebrity Relationships, Miley Cyrus
Is Miley Cyrus's birth mum dead or did Mileys parents get divorced or are they still happily married?
When two 17 year olds elope do they need parent permission from one parent for both of them or do they just need one parent permission Also after they elope are they free from their parents?
Even when your out of high school and going into or are in college your parents are responsible for your actions. The only way to be "free" from your parents is by getting emancipated. You need both parents signatures even if they are divorced, however if one is dead then the other is fine. Also, note that NO jurisdiction in the USA will marry two 17-year-olds without parental permission, even if one is pregnant. At the very minimum, they would both need the permission of a judge to get married, and that permission is not likely to be forthcoming without substantial reason and demonstration of responsibility by the two teenagers.
If you are 15 and have your parents' permission how can you prove to a judge that you should be allowed to get married?
I can't believe that any parent would give a 15 year old child permission to get married. However, I have to trust the fact you have no reason to lie. If your parents think this is getting you out of a scrape (perhaps you are pregnant) then they are dead wrong! 15 is far too young to get married. I just answered another post similar to yours (perhaps you posted twice) and explained that while you are at home tied down with babies your single girlfriends are out having the time of their lives and all you have ahead of you is many more years of reality that you didn't necessarily have to have. Don't get married! Marcy
Im 13 can i get married with a 15 year old boy?
No you must be over the age of consent in your area to be married. But, if you are in the USA, you can have your parents consent to marriage. For instance, in Alabama, if you are under the age of 18, you have to have both parents present to obtain a marriage license. If both parents are dead, then a legal guardian must be present. If you are an emancipated minor, you need proof. If you are under the age of 14, you may not marry. It just depends on where you live. Below is a list of USA marriage laws by state and territory.
What if both parents of a minor has passed away how can they get married without consent?
Generally speaking, a minor cannot get married without consent. If the parents are dead, the legal guardian will have to consent to the marriage. In some states, it is possible for a court to grant permission for a minor to marry without parental consent in certain circumstances (for example, in the event of a pregnancy). Since marriage laws vary from state to state, you'd need to specify where you are for a full answer.
Can a 14 year old get married without her parents consent?
Asked in Parenting and Children
What are you considered when your parents are dead?
What are the laws regarding underage marriage in FL when parents have Joint custody?
If an individual is under 18 years of age, but older than 16 years of age, a marriage license can be obtained with parental consent. If a parent has sole custody or the other parent is dead, the permission of one parent is sufficient. If a person is under the age of 16, the marriage license has to be issued by a county judge, with or without parental permission. If a minor's parents are both deceased and there is not an appointed guardian, he/she may apply for a marriage license. A minor who has been previously married may also apply for a license. A minor who swears that they have a child or are expecting a baby, can apply for a license if the pregnancy has been verfied by a written statement from a licensed physician. A county court judge may at his/her discretion issue or not issue a license for them to marry.
Asked in Florida
Is there anyway to get married at 15 years old Florida?
If a teen is under eighteen (18) years of age, but older than sixteen (16) years of age, a marriage license can be obtained with parental consent. If a parent has sole custody or the other parent is dead, the permission of one parent is sufficient. If a person is under the age of 16, the marriage license has to be issued by a county judge, with or without parental permission. If a minor's parents are both deceased and there is not an appointed guardian, he/she may apply for a marriage license. A minor teen who has been previously married may apply for a license. A minor who swears that they have a child or are expecting a baby, can apply for a license if the pregnancy has been verfied by a written statement from a licensed physician. A county court judge may at his/her discretion issue or not issue a license for them to marry.