answersLogoWhite
Timing Belts and Chains
Baseball Rules and Regulations
Planetary Science

If a baserunner steals 3rd base and must zig-zag around the shortstop and 3rd baseman who are lined up directly in the baseline should an obstruction be called?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 19:21:39
2015-07-15 19:21:39

I believe if either one is directly in the baseline, that is indeed interference (the runner is awarded the base).

Obstruction can only be called if the runner makes contact with one of the fielders. If he zig-zags around them without drawing contact then he can be called out for going out of the baseline.

Related Questions

User Avatar

The distance from home base to shortstop is 100.62 feet if shortstop is standing directly between second and third base.

User Avatar

Hello. A force out can be used when the runner is 'forced' to move to the next base. For example, when there's a baserunner at first and the batter hits the ball, there are force outs at both first (where the batter must go) and second (since the batter is coming to first, it forces the baserunner to second). However, if the ball is caught, the baserunner may stay at first since the batter is out. If the baserunner is not 'forced' to move to the next base, a force out cannot be used. For example, when there's a baserunner at second, first is empty and the batter hits the ball, there is only a force out at first. Since the baserunner on second does not have to yield her base to a runner directly behind her, she must be tagged to make the out if she tries to take third. Even in a situation where a force out will work, a tag is also an out. So IMO if the runner is off base and you can tag her, do it, then look to see if there are other outs that could be made.

User Avatar

If the pitcher throws directly from the rubber to the shortstop, it is a balk. However, if the pitcher first steps back off the rubber, he can throw anywhere.

User Avatar

Yes, anytime a runner turns towards 2nd he has "made an attempt to advance" and can be tagged out like any other baserunner. When running to first if you over run the base you will want to either turn to the right and go into foul territory to return to 1st base or turn directly around and go back to 1st base, in these instances, even if you are tagged you are NOT out. If you take even one step to the left towards 2nd, and you are tagged going back to 1st base you ARE out

User Avatar

The pitcher and catcher are those directly involved with the batter and pitching. The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd basemans and the shortstop all play on the infield. The right, center and left fielders all play in the outfield.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.