Baseball
Math and Arithmetic
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

Answer

Wiki User
06/30/2007

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."