Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If a batter hits a pitch that was thrown into the dirt and gets on base is that considered a hit?

282930

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-09-12 21:01:02
2011-09-12 21:01:02

Yes it is a hit. If the ball bounces off a car three miles away and come back in the strike zone the batter can hit it. If he doesn't it is a strike. As long as it gets to the batter it is playable unless it hits the batter.

AnswerOfficial baseball rules, definitions of terms section 2.00: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

That first answer is so far off base it isn't even funny -- as soon as it hits the dirt it can only be a strike if the batter swings -- this isn't crickett

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.

User Avatar

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.

User Avatar

When the batter swings at a pitch and misses it

User Avatar

If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.

User Avatar

No, a stolen base only occurs when a batter attempts to take a base during a pitch.

User Avatar

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.

User Avatar

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.

User Avatar

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.

User Avatar

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.

User Avatar

Yes, the batter made it safely to second base. Therefore, he is credited with a double.

User Avatar

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.

User Avatar

One Answer:This is called a balk i believe Another Answer:In MLB, there are some rules that, upon violation by the pitcher, the umpire can award a "ball" to the batter. So, theoretically, if the pitcher violates these rules 4 times in succession, the batter would be awarded first base without a pitch being thrown. Note: the batter is not awarded a "ball" when the pitcher balks, nor is he awarded first base; this may have been the rule years ago, but it is not the rule today. Also, some youth and recreational leagues have a rule that, if a pitcher intentionally walks a batter, the next batter has the choice of being awarded first base or of taking his normal time at bat.

User Avatar

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.

User Avatar

If a batter is hit by a pitch and the umpire determines he was "leaning over the plate", or "moved into the pitch" then he may not be awarded first base and the pitch will be called a strike or ball

User Avatar

If no one is on base then a ball is awarded to the batter. If a runner or runners are on base then they will be moved up one base and a ball is awarded to the batter.

User Avatar

Zero. If a pitcher delays the pitch or if the pitcher does an illegal move the umpire is to award the batter a ball. Done 4 consecutive times the batter is awarded 1st base. If then the Pitcher picks the runner off, the first out is recorded with no pitch being thrown. Also if a batter delays the umpire is to issue the batter a strike done three consecutive times the batter would be called out. So it is possible to record an out with no pitch being thrown. Repeat for each out of each inning. Likely the answer that is being looked for is one pitch for each out of th game 27.

User Avatar

Simply the batter will get thrown out if the batter does not take a base ...NOTE : On a two (2) out situation NO run(s) count as a run till the batter takes a base ...

User Avatar

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike

User Avatar

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.

User Avatar

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.

User Avatar

MLB Rule 6.01(b) states: " The first batter in each inning after the first inning shall be the player whose name follows that of the last player who legally completed his time at bat in the preceding inning. " In other words, if a player is at bat and does not complete the at bat before the third out is made, that batter will be the first batter in the next inning. An at bat is considered complete when the batter reaches base safely or makes an out. For example, a batter is up with two out, the count is 1 ball and 1 strike, and there is a runner on first base. On the next pitch the batter does not swing and the runner is thrown out trying to steal second base, which makes the third out. In this case, the batter that was up when the third out was made will be the first batter in the next inning because his at bat was not completed due to the runner being thrown out attempting to steal.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.