Baseball
Baseball History
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If a fielder is in the basepath and the runner either runs into the fielder or is forced around the fielder is it interference on the fielder?

545556

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-09-12 21:05:11
2011-09-12 21:05:11

If a baserunner runs into a fielder who is in the base line, and who is not in the act of fielding a ball, the call would be OBSTRUCTION on the fielder. The baserunner would be awarded the base he was running to. The runner that has been obstructed will be awarded at least one base or as many bases that the umpire deems necessary to offset the obstruction. This is a judgment call for the umpire and cannot be protested.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

Interference. This can result in either constructive interference, resulting in increased amplitude, or destructive interference, whereby there would a reduced amplitude.

User Avatar

Yes. Constructive interference happens when waves add up to a more powerful wave than either were before, destructive interference happens when waves add up to a less powerful wave than either were before.

User Avatar

either cc sabathia or prince fielder they both are pretty up there

User Avatar

Interference. It can either be destructive or constructive.

User Avatar

If the scorer believes that the runner would have been safe either way no error is awarded if the runner does not advance further. If the runner would have been out then the scorer gives the error to either the fielder or the catcher depending on the throw.

User Avatar

The Subaru 2.5 L engine is a non-interference engine. If you change the timing belt when it should be changed you don't need to worry either way.

User Avatar

Interfere with each other. This interference can be either constructive or destructive.

User Avatar

XM radio does not have static interference. It's a digital signal, so you'll either get a crystal-clear sound or none at all.

User Avatar

There will be either constructive or destructive interference.

User Avatar

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.

User Avatar

This is Interference, but whether the runner is called out depends on what happens. A throw to 1st base where the runner interferes with the play is certainly grounds for them to be called out. Also if the throw to 1st base hits the runner in fair territory, they should be called out for interference. The fielder should throw to 1st base as if the runner were following the rules and running in foul territory. If they choose not to and move to allow the throw to reach 1st base without hitting the runner reaches safely, the umpires are allowed to interpret the rules as though the runner is either out or safe.

User Avatar

Human beings have encroached into forests as they look for land to either settle or build the basic infrastructure. The cutting of trees and the burning of forests are the other types of human interference.

User Avatar

One Answer:Baseball interference is described as any infraction or action by a person that illegally alters the course of baseball play. The five types of interference are covered by the rules and different rules are applied in each type of interference. The 5 kinds of interference can be committed either by an offensive player, a player off the bench, a catcher, an umpire, and a spectator. This article describes and explains the 5 most common kinds of interference called by umpires. The 5 most frequently kinds of baseball interference that occur are:Offensive Physical InterferenceOffensive interference is when an offensive player causes a defensive player to misplay a hit ball. The offensive player physically interferes with the defensive player that is in the act of attempting to field a ball. This contact allows a base runner to advance or makes it more difficult for the player to get an out. This is the most commonly called kind of interference. When offensive interference is committed, the ball immediately becomes dead. If a batter or a base runner the commits the interference that player is called out. All runners must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the interference.If offensive interference is committed by a runner with the intent of preventing a double play, both, the batter and the runner committing the interference will be called out.Offensive Verbal InterferenceDid you know that interference can be called on a player in the dugout? A player can commit what is called "Verbal Interference" from the dugout. Verbal interference may also be called on an offensive player. Calling out "foul" on a fair ball or "mine" on a fly ball, to confuse or hinder a defensive play is offensive verbal interference.Umpire interferenceUmpire interference is when a umpire interferes with a catcher attempting to make a throw. If the umpire`s action does not prevent the catcher from making the play, the play stands. If the action by the umpire causes a runner to be safe, the ball is dead and all runners must return to their time of throw bases. Umpire interference also occurs an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball before it touches or passes near an infielder other than the pitcher. The ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance only if forced.Catcher interferenceWhen a catcher physically hinders the swing of a batter, Catcher interference is called. Catcher interference is most commonly called when the bat touches the catching mitt during a swing. This most frequently occurs when a runner is attempting to steal and the catcher is too anxious to catch the ball. When catcher interference occurs, play continues, and after continuous playing action ceases, the umpire will call time. The batter is awarded first base, any runner attempting to steal is awarded that base, and all other runners advance only if forced. The catcher is charged with an error.Spectator interferenceSpectator interference most frequently occurs when a spectator in the first row of seats reaches onto the field to attempt to grab a fair or foul fly ball. Spectator interference occurs when If the umpire judges that the fielder could have caught the ball over the field. The ball becomes dead, and the umpire will award any bases or charge any outs that, in his judgment, would have occurred without the interference.I hope that you found this article to be informative. I really appreciate you taking the time to read it.Another Answer:MLB rule 2.0 INTERFERENCE (a) states: "Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play."To have a MLB umpire call verbal interference (based on "confuses") would be extremely unusual, but other leagues, especially youth leagues or co-rec leagues, may be more likely to call it.

User Avatar

Interference means two waves meet each other. If the waves are in same phase, they'll enhance each other, creating a bigger wave or a bigger maximum at that point. If they are in opposit phase, they'll undo each other either fully or partially. This is called an destructive interference wave.

User Avatar

The 2nd baseman always will cover 2nd base when a ball is hit to left field. Then the shortstop will do a cut-off to the left fielder so there can be a play made at either 2nd base or 3rd base (a regular left field outfield hit).

User Avatar

The RJ19LM has an added resistor to reduce radio interference. You can use either model for your application as they are interchangeable.

User Avatar

I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?)..in either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.

User Avatar

Once the ball is past first or third base, the ONLY consideration is where the BALL is located -- fair or foul -- when it FIRST comes in contact with either the ground or a player. If the player is almost entirely in fair territory when he first grabs the ball, but the glove that touches the ball is in foul territory, then it's a foul ball. "If the ball touches a fielder in-flight, the judgment is made at where the ball was when it was touched, NOT from where it may land after a miss, or drop of the ball, by a fielder. The position of the fielder is irrelevant."

User Avatar

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.

User Avatar

To quote the old Q code, Noise is QRN and interference is QRM. Noise is natural or accidental, caused by natural sources or accidentally by operating electrical machinery. Interference is man made, either deliberately to obstruct legitimate communications, or accidentally due to adjacent frequencies or locations being used. The borderline is indistinct. Don't get me going about flak and fruit.

User Avatar

Goaltending my friend, or basket interference. Either way, it is very much illegal

User Avatar

Yes it is. Mine bent 6 valves. When the upper timing chain guide broke and chewed up the rest of the guides and gears. If the valves were bent than the engine is an INTERFERENCE ENGINE. A non interference engine has clearance between the valves and the cylinder head so if the timing belt lets go and the valves are in the intake or exhaust position they would clear the cylinder heads causing no damage to either. So the answer to your question is NO the engine is not an non interference engine

User Avatar

If the resulting amplitude is smaller, then it's "destructive interference".If the resulting amplitude is larger, then it's "constructive interference".Looks like the name you give it depends on which wave you're more interested in.When a large wave and a small wave interfere, the resulting amplitude can belarger than either one, smaller than either one, or midway between them.If the resulting amplitude is midway between the individual amplitudes, and youwere using the larger one to communicate with, then from your point of view, theinterference is destructive. If you were more interested in the smaller one, thenas far as you're concerned the same interference is constructive.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.