only after a made basket
as log as the player's feet remain in bounds and the ball is not obstructed by the shot clock or the top of the backboard the basked is legal.
After a made basket by the opposing team
No you can't, the ball has to first come into play.
From behind the out-of-bounds line.
If you pass the ball to someone that is also out of bounds then it would be a turnover and your team would lose the ball. so the answer is no you can not pass the ball to someone that is out of bounds. I am not sure about college and international basketball, but in the NBA you can pass the ball to someone out of bounds, after a made shot or free throw, as long as they are behind the same line as you are. If you are underneath the basket and you can't find someone to inbound to, one of your teammates can run behind the same line you are behind to take a pass from you and try to inbound. The five second clock for inbounding the ball does not reset if you do this. yes i forgot to say that you can switch players during the pass in but it is very risky with only 5 seconds to inbound. my basketball team can always get the ball out to someone to make a shot. This move is not very popular and can be risky with a delay penalty. But some people chose to risk it. In Ohio high school ball, you can pass from one team mate to another out of bounds after a made basket. The other person has to be behind the same end line as the original person taking it out of bounds. It is just like running the end line with the ball after a made basket. As a coach, I have used this before to get the ball inbounds when the other team is pressing. Team makes a shot, you take it out but cannot get it in. Another player goes out of bounds on the other side of the court, you pass to him, and then you step in bounds to get it back. Most defenses will not know what to do the first time they see this since it is rarely done. Keep in mind that if you are taking it out of bounds you can also run to the other side of the court after a made shot. The ball just has to be thrown in play (leave the hands of the passer) before 5 seconds are up.
You have 5 seconds to throw the ball in but you can also run up and down the baseline as long as you stay out of bounds.
In basketball, the clock stops for every time out, foul, and out of bounds violation. It should also stop at the sound of the referee's whistle.
A trajectory is the path a projectile takes through the air. When shooting a basketball, the player must find the ideal trajectory where the ball avoids all obstacles, stays in bounds and goes in the basket.
As stated, no. The ball would be considered out of play.
If the basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.
you may stand anywhere behind the service line (the rear out of bounds line) you must be inside the imaginary extensions of the side out of bounds lines.
If the team imbounding (passing the ball in) places a foot inside the court while imbounding the ball, the umpire will blow his whistle and will bring the imbounder back behind the line.
also known as the baseline, it's the out of bounds lines right behind the basketball hoops.
When the ball makes contact with anything that is out of bounds (this includes touching the out of bounds line) it is considered 'out of bounds'. If the ball goes out of bounds in the air and is pulled back, it is not considered out of bounds.
the line that goes around the basket in a curve close to the out of bounds. go to http://library.thinkquest.org/12006/images/court.gif .... its the green line on the picture!!
No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.
It is not legal under NCAA rules:Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboardfrom any direction.In NBA the rule is slightly different:b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.Note the word 'directly'. Here's the official interpretation from NBA vice president of referee operations Joe Borgia in 2009:"Think of the backboard as a long tunnel that goes straight back," Borgia said. "If the ball goes through that tunnel, it's a violation. If you looked at Rondo's shot, it was an arching shot up and over the backboard. It never passes through the tunnel."This is why Bird's shot is waived off while other shots that flew over the backboard but not from behind the backboard are valid.Bird's shot is legal under FIBA rules.
Usually, the play that the team is using determines which player inbounds the ball. (Either after a foul, out of bounds, or shot.) Most of the time one of the guards/wings will inbound the ball with the point guard, but sometimes the person who catches the ball after the basket will just step out of bounds and pass it in.
Nothing, he will be out of bounds.
Only if the player was forced out of bounds by a defensive player.