If the defense throws it to first and the umpire makes the call, the runner is out, but if the ump does not make the call an appeal must be made to determine the situation of the runner.
No, this is an appeal call only. This is not the umpires call unless asked on appeal.
YES he can be called out on an appeal... this would be the same as if a home was hit and the runner had not tagged first base ...
It is scored as a single, out at second.
Answer to first part: Run does not count. Explanation: For the runner on third coming home, the run does not count. No run counts on a play where the third out is a force out. There was one out when the play began; batter hits fly ball which is caught for the second out; ball is thrown to first base and the runner there is called out for the third out; this is considered a force out, therefore, the run does not count. Answer to second part: Runner on first is called out. Explanation: Only the defense can appeal that the runner left early. The offense (team at bat) cannot appeal that the runner did NOT leave early. Note: The act of the right fielder throwing to first base is considered the appeal. If the runner is called out, there is no further action possible or necessary. If the runner is called safe, the defense (team in the field) can appeal by the usual process (where the pitcher with the ball addresses the rubber, then steps off the rubber and throws to first), but the same call will be made; why would the umpire change his mind?
No. Has to be appealed and ruled out by the umpire.
yes, whenever there is 2 outs and a person tries to score and makes it but the other runner gets out the run doesn't count.
The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.
Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?
say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and
If s/he touches Second Base he can't retreat.
The third place win is usually referred to as the second runner up. The winner is first, the runner up is second, the second runner up is third.
Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.
NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.
The second runner can, assuming he hasn't crossed in front of the lead runner. If he does that, they are both called out.
That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.
if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction
Let's say that you're the batter/runner in this situation and I'm in the field. You hit the ball to third base and take off for first. I get the ball and through to first. You beat the ball to first but you miss the base. I would have to get you out by tagging you. If you go to second and I don't tag you, then I believe the pitcher can throw to first on the next pitch (As if he is picking off) and you will be out.
Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.
A runner can return to first base, however, they must touch second base on their way back. If they fail to touch second base (and run directly to first base without re-tagging second base) they can be called out on appeal. Appeals work as follows: the pitcher takes the mound with the ball, toes the rubber and then steps off and throws the ball to the base the runner did not tag. When the fielder steps on the base the umpire - if they were paying attention - will then call the runner who is now on first base out. ensue.
Energy relay game is a race game, in which there are four runner (One team). There are three points where the first runner of the team passes the stick to the second runner. The second runner passes the stick to third runner and third runner passes the stick to last runner. This cycle is completed by all the participating teams. The team who did this first is the winner.
Yes, the runner on third base with two outs will be considered as a scored run in the event of the batter reaching first base and advancing to second base at his own risk however a fielder throws to 2B and gets the batter out however in the event of the defense recording the third out before the runner on third base scores then the run by him will not count.
Assuming there is no force at home, chase the runner towards third base and that increases your chance of getting one or perhaps two outs. By throwing home, again assuming no force, the runner could get back to second safely and the throw to home is meaningless.
well a runner up is in second place so any team that is in second place is a runner up team
Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.
No, once the runner heading for first base is out, the runner heading toward second base may safely return to first.
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User