If a runner on first base decides to run but changes his mind and he is past the half way point between bases does he have to run to second or can he go back to first?
He can go back to first - few make it.
The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.
If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?
Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman…
Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?
That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second…
Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?
Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?
The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".
A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to…
What are the coverage responsibilities of each infielder on a bunt with no outs and a runner at third base?
The first baseman should stay close to the bag but out a little more then usual so incase she needs to run back to the bag to get an out if the ball in thrown in her derection to get an out. The second baseman shouldcome up from her position too. More then the first baseman should because if there's just a runner on first and a batter then there is no need for a…
Energy relay game is a race game, in which there are four runner (One team). There are three points where the first runner of the team passes the stick to the second runner. The second runner passes the stick to third runner and third runner passes the stick to last runner. This cycle is completed by all the participating teams. The team who did this first is the winner.
What if a runner rounds third then retreats only to find a runner from second is now on third and he retreats to second but is tagged out what happens to the runner on third?
Lead runner has the right to the bag as long as they are not being forced ahead by occupants of other bases. If the runner on 3rd was not being forced they can return to the bag and the runner from 2nd must return to 2nd. The runner returning to second if tagged is out and unless the runner returning to 3rd is tagged while off the base then they are safe. If both runner…
How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?
If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.
There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?
That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner…
When a pitcher is in the set position and his left foot crosses the pitching rubber with a runner on second base does he have to throw to second?
With runners on first and second how can a triple play occur without the fielder touching the ball and to which mlb team has this occured?
If the ball is fair and strikes the side fencing, it doesn't affect the play. A runner is still able to run until he/she decides to stop, crosses home plate for a run, or is called out. If the ball cannot be retrieved by the fielder for whatever reason - for example, if it becomes lodged under the padding on the fences, or becomes lost in the ivy at Wrigley Field - it's usual that…
On defense if a runner is caught in a run down between 2nd and 3rd and there is a runner on 3rd base should we throw home to not allow the run to score?
yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.
From what I know from highschool/early university simple harmonic motions, I believe that there is no necessary link between loudness and frequency. Frequency (the number of times a wave completes an oscillation or cycle in one second) decides the pitch of the sound, while amplitude (the difference in height between the highest point in the sound wave and the lowest point) decides the loudness of the sound.
A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases…