Baseball
Baseball Equipment
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If a throw is made to a base and the man covering the base is not there allowing the ball to go into the outfield who is charged with the error?

575859

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2015-07-16 18:06:23
2015-07-16 18:06:23

The error will be on the person who was to cover the based. this is as long as the person who was to cover the base could have gotten the ball.

If in fact there is nobody there to receive the ball, then it would be ruled a throwing error.

Offical baseball rules section 10.13(e) The Official Scorer section.An error shall be charged against any fielder whose failure to stop, or try to stop, an accurately thrown ball that permits a runner to advance, providing there was occasion for the throw. If such throw be made to second base, the scorer shall determine whether it was the duty of the second baseman or the shortstop to stop the ball, and an error shall be charged to the negligent player. Note: If in the scorer's judgment there was no occasion for the throw, an error whall be charged to the fielder who threw the ball.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions


No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.

To help you further we need to know what is "IT"

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.

It is an error, charged to the catcher as a passed ball, however, it does not show up in the stats as an error.

Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.

an error is only charged if the runner reaches base because of the mistake when they should have been out.

When a batter reaches on an error, an at bat is charged (since there would have been a put out had the error not occurred), so it will cause a decrease in batting average

Target charged my account from on line in error.

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.

A run can never be counted as earned if scored due to an error by ANY player. (But, I do see your point)

Yes. Once the pitched ball is batted, a pitcher becomes a fielder. If he makes an attempt to field a ball and rightfully should be able to score a putout but fails, he can be charged a fielding error. One example would be a bunted ball where the pitchers moves to pick it up with his glove, but instead hits it away from himself, allowing the batter-runner to safely reach first base. The pitcher made an attempt to field the ball and should have had the batter out, but he failed.

Rounded to the nearest whole number, and allowing for measurement error, exactly 32.

No. An error is defined as a misplay that allows one or more baserunners to advance an extra base. In this case, the ball would simply be declared foul. Scorer rule 10.12 says that a fielder can be charged with an error if he drops a fly foul ball because it prolongs the 'at bat' of the hitter. The hitter does not have to reach base and the runners, if any, need not advance for an error to be charged.

No. A fumble on the quarterback/center exchange is always charged to the QB, regardless of whose error it was.

This will depend on the situation. If it is a poorly thrown ball where the runner would be out on a good throw the person who threw the ball would be charged the error. This would be an instance where the 1st baseman had to jump or dive to catch the ball then apply the tag. If the throw is a good throw and basically dropped the the person catching is charged an error. If it is an instance where it is a collision at home or any other base an other then the fact the ball was dropped due to the collision then nobody would be charged an error

Not unless the error is such that you either can not understand what you are charged with doing wrong, or can not properly defend yourself.

No, this would not be an error it would be ruled a wild pitch or passed ball, neither of which are charged with errors

If you are able to be identified from all the the other information supplied in the documents, yes, you can be. An error such as this is known as a "scrivener's error" and is actually not uncommon.

Errors are only charged when a ball is in fair play.

Allowing for rounding error, as a very rough estimate, I would suggest 1.

E.R.A. stands for Earned Run Average. It is the average earned runs scored upon a pitcher per nine innings of work. It is called Earned because if a fielder makes an error allowing a runner to advance a base and that runner eventually scores, that run will not be charged to the pitcher's E.R.A.

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI

No - a passed ball is credited to the catcher's statistics and to the team's passed balls statistics.Not only is a passed ball not a team error, it is not considered an error at all. Passed balls and wild pitches are given their own statistical categories with no error charged on either type of play.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.