Basketball Rules and Regulations

If an NBA player has picked up his dribble can he throw it off of the defender and start dribbling again?

626364

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 19:05:54
2015-07-15 19:05:54

yes he can. when the ball touches the defender possesion switches over to the opposing team witch allows the player the ability to regain the ball and continue on dribbling. though the defender could steal that ball.

WORD TO THE WISE: most basketball players will not turn their back on the ball, and throwing the ball at a defender facing you can result in a technical foul.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

A player who is dribbling the ball is "alive". But if you stop dribbling, and hold it up with 2 hands "dead". then if you dribble again, that's Double Dribble.

User Avatar

a player putting both hands on the ball and dribble or a player stops dribbling and starts again

User Avatar

a double dribble is when you start dribbling than you stop to try to pass the ball to another player and you can not see anyone to pass it to than you just start dribbling again it is a double dribble or a foul and its a throw in for the other team

User Avatar

When a basketball player runs with the ball with out dribbling, they are traveling which is against the rules.

User Avatar

It's when a basketball player dribbles the ball, stops briefly, and then resumes dribbling.

User Avatar

No, you are thinking of double dribbling. Traveling is when a player takes 3 more step in a row without dribbling.

User Avatar

That depends on how fast the player is dribbling the ball. There is not an exact number on how many times a player dribbles the ball.

User Avatar

A crossover dribble move is performed when the player dribbling the ball switches the ball rapidly from one hand to the other, to make a change in direction.

User Avatar

A double dribble is when the person with the ball picks up the ball and stops dribbling it. After the person stops dribbling the ball, the person starts again without another person handling the ball. A legal dribble must never stop. The ball must be continually bounced and once the ball stops bouncing the player can not dribble again.

User Avatar

If you haven't dribbled yet you can make as many as you want and dribble. If you have just stopped dribbling you cannot dribble again regardless of the number of pivots. You will need to pass the ball, shoot it, or bounce it off an opposing player to dribble again

User Avatar

It is a double dribble if you are dribbling it, but if you are passing it it's called a bounce pass.

User Avatar

N0, that is considered a double dribble. The ball cannot go up in the air and then land in a players hands, and the player start dribbling again.

User Avatar

Yes, you can^Uh no..Stepping Before DribblingA player who receives a pass from a teammate and starts running without dribbling is performing an illegal move. The player must dribble before he moves on the court with the ball, or else the referee will cite him for traveling. At the professional level, National Basketball Association referees seem to let players take a step before the dribble, but this should not happen in college, high school or youth basketball.

User Avatar

well you can take as many steps as you need but you have to dribble the ball if not dribbling, the max is 2.

User Avatar

When you pass you:Launch the from your chest to the player with two hands When you dribble you:Bounce the ball on the floor with one hand

User Avatar

an illegal dribble or double dribble in basketball is when the player uses both hands to dribble or the player starts to dribble a second time after coming to a stop

User Avatar

Years ago, probably when basketball first started as a sport air dribbling was allowed. One could bounce the ball upward from the palm of the hand much like the ball is dribbled today with the palm down. Today, it would probably be called "steps". I would like to know when and if air dribbling was removed from basketball. Some fifty years ago I was a basketball referee for high school games and I do remember the rulebook's reference to "air dribble". I don't remember the rule word-for-word now, but it was essentially as follows: "The player in possession of the ball may flip or toss the ball into the air and then bat the ball in the desired direction. The player may then run ahead, or past the defender to retrieve the ball. When the player catches up to the batted ball he may then resume dribbling the ball in the normal way. If he catches the ball with both hands, his dribble is completed and he must either shoot the ball or pass it. Only one air dribble per possession is allowed and the air dribble must take place at the beginning of the player's possession. (In other words, you could not dribble the ball three times and then bat the ball in the performance of an air dribble.) I never saw anyone try this procedure and I cannot find any reference to it in my copy of NCAA Rules of Basketball.

User Avatar

no. if both hands touch the ball at the same time, it cannot be dribbled again. it is called double dribbling.

User Avatar

Consider what position the player plays. A defender should have good heading, shooting (clearance) and tackling ability. A midfielder needs to be a good all rounder. A winger should have good crossing, dribbling and speed. A striker needs to have good shooting (finishing), speed and dribbling .

User Avatar

carrying, also colloquially referred to as palming, is a violation in the game of basketball. It occurs when the dribbling player continues to dribble after allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. Carrying is similar to a double dribble because the player momentarily stops dribbling and then resumes dribbling. If the player is in motion while carrying the ball, then it is similar to traveling. Players can avoid a carrying violation by keeping their palms facing the floor while dribbling. Most basketball players slide their hand to one side of the ball when dribbling to better control the ball, directing it from left to right and vice-versa. So long as the ball does not come to rest this is perfectly legal. Moreover, dribbling this way allows more control and easier ball-handling. The problem arises when the ball-handler slides their hand too far down the side of the ball, having their hand below the ball. This is when the player is in violation and a carrying foul has been committed.

User Avatar

you can never dribble out of bounds. ever.

User Avatar

Nope, because like u said THEY ARE GAINING CONTROL. It's only once u already have control and are already dribbling the ball, that it's considered double dribble. U have to already had dribble the ball at least once, before touching it with two hands, in order to be called for double dribble.

User Avatar

Double dribbling is when a player stops dribbling and starts again, uses two hands on the ball, or touches the ball more than once before it touches the floor.

User Avatar

dont dribble on me your hands isnt clean eww it has germs


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.