Divorce and Marriage Law
Taxes and Tax Preparation
Florida

If someone lives in Florida and they wish to divorce someone who lives in Tennessee where should they file?

394041

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-01-26 14:49:59
2009-01-26 14:49:59

You can file in either state. This allows for forum shopping, so file in whichever state has the most favorable divorce laws.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

File a contested divorce. You should consult with an attorney who specializes in divorce in your area. You should ask around, friends and relatives, to get some referrals. It is always good to find someone who had a great experience with their lawyer. If your spouse will contest the divorce it is even more important to have a good divorce lawyer because your divorce settlement will depend in large part on their knowledge of the law, experience and ability to negotiate.

User Avatar

A good friend and someone you trust!

User Avatar

I believe so. Tennessee is not a member of the "compact".Someone I know had suspensions in Ga. and Tn., but were issued a Florida license.They had been issued a license in Fl. years earlier, but it had lapsed.Without a superceding federal law,maybe, that's the way it should be nationwide.(2012)

User Avatar

The immigration status of a spouse should have no factor in getting a divorce in Florida. If there are children involved some issues may arise. Consulting an attorney would be the best course of action.

User Avatar

The Tennessee Volunteers defeated the Florida Gators 38-28 on September 24, 2016. Florida was winning 21-3 at halftime. However Tennessee scored 35 points in the 2nd half. The 2017 game should be another exciting game. The preseason ranking by the AP has Florida ranked 17th and Tennessee ranked 25th.

User Avatar

There is no waiting period in Tennessee. However, it would not be a good idea to go from the courtroom to the justice of the peace to get married again. You should wait just long enough for the divorce decree to be signed by the judge and entered into the record by the clerk.

User Avatar

You should have received a divorce document. Once you have that you are free to marry at any time. Marcy In the state of Tennessee, you must wait 30 days after the divorce decree is legalize to get married. If you get married before the 30 days are up it can be consider voidable. I am talking through experience.

User Avatar

Yes, your divorce should be where you live at the time of your separation, or where the children reside. If you live in the US, the divorce needs to be in the US to be enforceable.

User Avatar

I Prefer North Carolina Has a nice climate. Florida is pretty hot and can have bad weather. Tennessee is fine too, if you want to grow some healthy crops i should say Tennessee.

User Avatar

It depends on the terms for child support as detailed in your divorce decree.

User Avatar

No, you can only kill someone if they attack you.... you should report the threat to the police

User Avatar

Should take you about 9 hours, give or take an hour due to traffic.

User Avatar

you cannot stop someone from getting a divorce from you. the best thing is to get documentation of the affair and go to a lawyer and file first. it is over, and just face the fact that it is. i didn't and am now in a divorce without the upper hand. i should have filed first.

User Avatar

You can find out information about colleges in Tennessee by asking your teacher or someone who is professional and been to college from Tennessee. You should take a tour of colleges around Tennessee because I know some university accepts college tours.

User Avatar

If you want a divorce then you should see a lawyer and decide on what grounds you will use for the divorce which will be suggested by your lawyer.

User Avatar

Men and women getting a divorce should not hire divorce attorneys to assist them.

User Avatar

Yes, although you should hire Florida counsel to represent you there. Actually, the answer provided herein depends on whether the proposed Defendant resides in Florida. If the defendant does not reside in Florida, then you will need to show some kind of contact between him/her and Florida to state a claim against him/her there.

User Avatar

You should pay for someone to serve him with divorce papers when you file , but if he does not sign, you will end up in court to get the divorce. There may be some requirements regarding the time between filing for divorce and the final decree. The argument will not be particularly about the restraining order, etc. but perhaps about child custody and visitation (if you have children) and that part may not be pleasant. If he is truly dangerous, you may want to consult with someone to get advice on how you should manage this.

User Avatar

I fixed the spelling of "file" in the question, but could not make the question clear enough to give a specific answer. I don't know if "out of the state of Florida" means you are in Florida and want a Florida divorce, you are not in Florida but want a Florida divorce, or you are in Florida but want a divorce in some other state. So I will try to show you some ways to find the answer. If you are in Florida and want a divorce in another state, you need to ask about the divorce laws of that other state. If you are not in Florida and want a divorce in Florida, you can only file in Florida if one of the parties has lived in Florida for at least 6 months. If you are in Florida and want a Florida divorce, there are three methods. Which one you choose depends on your situation. If you have no childern and have agreed on all the details (division of property, payment of obligations), you can use the "simplified divorce" procedure. The other two methods are "regular divorce" either with or without children. Specific procedures may be different from county to county. You can download the form packets for any of the three types of divorce, or you can get the packet from you local Clerk of Court office - but you should have a lawyer for a "regular divorce" because it is quite complicated. You can find the contact info for your local Clerk of Court at the first related link, below. Just select your county and use the contact info for Circuit Court for that county. There will also be link to the court's website (the court's name in blue) which may have detailed local information. You can find links to information about Florida divorce at the second related link; just scroll down the page looking for link descriptions that mention "divorce" or "family" or "domestic" (but not "domestic violence") and click the link. Links near the top of the page are statwide information, and the "Florida Family Law Handbook" is a good place to start. The next group of links applies to specific judicial circuits, and the rest of the page has local links by county. You can find links to form packets at the third related link; just scroll down the page and look for links to forms related to "divorce" or "family law" or "domestic". Links to forms you can use in any county are in the "Statewide" category at the top of the page - or you can scroll down for forms that are specific to your judicial circuit or county.

User Avatar

All property owned by either party anywhere should be part of the divorce. How it is awarded is depends on the state's laws and circumstances. Leaving property out of the divorce can be considered hiding assets, and will not turn out well.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.