answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

YES.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2004-09-09 03:18:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


How many strikes or balls will you get in a softball game?

In an at bat a batter as to get 4 balls before they walk. A walk meaning they get to be on first base. In a at bat where there are no foul balls they batter gets three strikes before they are out. If there are foul balls they count as pitches, but a batter can not strike out on a foul ball that is not caught.


Batter has 2 strikes and 1 ball if he gets injured does the pinch batter take the same count or start over?

The pinch batter assumes the count that the original batter had.


When the catcher catches a foul ball behind the plate is the batter out or does it matter what the count is?

If a batter swings, and the ball becomes a fly ball, and that ball is caught by ANY fielder (including the catcher) before it hits the ground; the batter is out no matter what the count happens to be or whether the ball is fair or foul. MLB Rule 2.0 states that "A FLY BALL is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight." No specific rule exists on what "high in the air" means it's entirely the judgement of the umpire.If the batter swings and partly hits the ball but the ball "goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught" (again, MLB Rule 2.0), that is a foul tip. If the catcher does not catch the ball partly hit by the bat, the umpire can rule that the ball was a foul meaning the batter is NOT out if there are two strikes on him. The umpire can also rule that the ball was not hit by the bat meaning the swing was a strike and the batter is (again) out if there are two strikes on him.


What does a full count mean when said by the empire in softball?

When an umpire calls a full count, that means the batter has 3 balls and 2 strikes. A full count (3-2) is the highest number of balls and strikes a batter can get before he is either awarded a base (on balls) or is out (on strikes).


What are 3 balls and two strikes on the batter?

it is called a "full" count.


What is a 3 2 count in baseball?

A 3-2 count is also known as a full count. 3=the number of balls the batter has. 2= the number of strikes the batter has.


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


If the umpire's count on the batter is 2-1 how many strikes are on the batter?

There is one strike on the batter if the count is 2-1 That is something that shouldn't really be asked online that is obvious


Batter has a count of 2 and 1 and foul tips the ball what is the count now?

Two balls and two strikes


A batter has a count of three balls and two strikes what is the call?

It's called a full count according to my grandpa.


Softball what is two strikes and three balls?

If the pitch count is at 2 strikes and 3 balls that is a "full count" meaning the next pitch is the last for that batter. (For all you critics; this is because in softball, if the third strike is fouled out of play the batter is out)


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


In baseball what is a full count?

A full count in baseball is when the count is 3-2, three balls and two strikes. Four balls is a walk, in which the batter is awarded first base, and three strikes is an out. BPL


What is a pitchers count?

A pitchers count is when the pitcher is leading the count and not the batter he is facing. (ex. If the count is 1-2 it would be a pitchers count because there are more strikes then balls.)


How many foul balls can a batter have?

You can technically have infinite foul balls (assuming they go out of the playing field and are not caught). The exception is if there are already 2 strikes and you foul the ball off but it goes right into the catchers mitt. Then you're out. Also, if they're are 2 strikes and you attempt a bunt and hit it foul then you are out. ---------- Above answer is almost correct... A batter can hit an unlimited number of fouls, but a foul that is caught in the air is not counted as a foul. It's simply an out. Also, a ball that is hit straight back to the catcher who then catches it is not a foul...it is a "foul tip," and the ball is still alive, so that's not a foul either. And it doesn't matter if there are 2 strikes, or 1 strike or 0 strikes, or what the count is at all.


Does a caught fly ball count as a hit in baseball?

no because the batter failed to get on base


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


What sport has the term 'full count' used in it?

In baseball when a batter has three balls and two strikes against him/her it is called a full count.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


Batter strikes out catcher drops third strike runner scores from thirdon steal prior to throw to first for the third out does run score?

yes, unless there are 2 out...then the batter must beat the throw to first for the run to count...just as if he put the ball in play, no runs can score if the batter is put out before reaching 1st base for the final out of the inning


Is it a plate appearance if the batter gets thrown out but a runner scores from third base?

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.


A batter who has 2 strikes and 3 balls is said to have full count?

Yes, 3 Balls and 2 strikes is considered a "full count" meaning that the next strike you receive you are out (strike out) or the next ball you get you receive a walk (or 'bases on balls').Foul balls don't count towards your strike total when you have 2 strikes, if you foul a ball off with 2 strikes you have to "do it again" and your count remains the same.


What is a full count?

In baseball, this is when the batter has a 'count' of three balls and two strikes. It is called a full count because the batter cannot get another ball or strike without the at bat ending ... one more ball will cause a base on balls (walk) and one more strike will be a strikeout.


Is the batter out if a bunted ball hits him?

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.