answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

it is scored a wp the batter doesn't get RBI

2011-09-12 21:35:43
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Is a run in the box score credited to a runner when it is unearned?

Yes. Even though the run is not charged to the pitcher, due to an error by his defense, the player scoring is credited with a run scored. However, the batter may or may not receive a Run Batted In. The official scorer will determine if the runner, would have scored, regardless of the error, and then determine if the player should or should not receive a RBI.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


Runner on third and batter bunts Pitcher throws home and runner is safe at home and first. how is this scored?

A line is drawn along the first baseline for the batter and a FC (Fielder's Choice) is assigned to them. In the same box, a 1-2 is written. A line is drawn from 3rd to home in the runners box and the box is filled in to show that the runner has scored.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


What is the criteria to get an RBI on a groundout?

A batter gets an RBI if his groundout scored a runner. The only exception is if the batter hit into a double play, in which case no RBI is given. Of course if the runner scored on an error, and not on the groundout, there is also no RBI.


If batter hits high bouncer to pitcher with runners on third and second and the pitcher holds runner on third then throws to first and the batter is safe is this a hit or error by pitcher?

Most likely it is neither a hit nor an error. In most cases this would be scored a "Fielder's Choice". It could be a hit if, in the scorers judgement, the batter would have beat the throw to first had the pitcher not hesitated to hold the runner. It would not be an error unless the pitcher bobbled or misplayed the ball. To clarify, a "Fielder's Choice" can be recorded even if an out is not registered.


If pitcher walks batter and batter scores is it an earned run?

Yes it is The only time a run scored is not counted as an earned run is if the base runner reached base on an error. Hit, walk or hit by pitch count as earned runs even if errors are committed after the runner reaches base.


Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

No. The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.


If a batter reaches 1st base on an error and a runner scores because of her hit does she earn an rbi even though she received a base because of an error?

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


When a hitter gets a single yet advances all the way home on overthrows and there is a runner on base that also scores does the hitter receive any RBI's?

The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.


How do you score a batter being called out for stepping on homeplate during a bunt?

2 unassisted. Any batter or runner called out on account of a rule is scored as the action of the nearest player.


Bases loaded two outs the batter hits the ball into the outfield all three runners touch homeplate but the batter runner is tagged out trying to get to 3rd base do the runs count?

All runners who touched home plate before the batter/runner was tagged out are considered to have scored runs.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


What does h mean for a pitcher in box score?

Hits. A Hit is scored when a batter safely makes it to first base.


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.


What is the difference between a force out and fielder's choice?

It's a judgment call. I think the answer is this: A play is scored as a fielder's choice if, in the official scorer's judgment, the fielder had a clear opportunity to throw the batter/runner out at first, but instead chose to putout another baserunner. So I suppose a batted ball is scored as a force out if the fielder has no realistic chance (in the scorer's eyes) to get the batter/runner out at first and his only choice is to tag another runner or throw to another base.


If the batter hits a single to left field and a runner is thrown out at the plate is the batter credited with a hit or fielder's choice?

This would be a hit. The only scenerio that this would be a fielder's choice is if the bases were loaded during the hit and the runner that was thrown out was on third base during the hit. A fielder's choice is scored only if the batter would have been out had the fielder chosen to go after him instead of a runner already on base. If the batter would have reached first anyway (such as in the scenario described here), he would get a hit.