Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-07-16 19:17:47

It depends on the laws in your state. Each state varies on the laws for carseat and booster laws.

Really, yes. It's because seat belts are designed to fit adults over 5ft tall, and children that are under 4ft 9in tall really don't fit them. It's not about how old they are, it's about safety for their size. Here's a 5-step test to see if they pass, and if the child does, then he/she would be fine in just a seat belt, if not then a booster would be needed.

  1. Does the child sit all the way back against the auto seat?
  2. Do the child's knees bend comfortably at the edge of the auto seat?
  3. Is the lap belt touching the top of the thighs, not the tummy?
  4. Is the shoulder belt centered on the shoulder and chest?
  5. Can the child sit like this the whole trip?

From: Jen E - Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and mom to 3 in seats!

It's really different depending on where you live. Here in Canada the laws were just changes so that if a child meets one of the following 3 criteria they don't need a booster seat. 1. the child is 8 years or older, 2. the child weighs 36kg (80lbs) or 3. the child is 145cm (4 feet 9 inches tall). I totally agree with the above answer that it shouldn't be an age thing because you could have an 8 year old that is only 4 feet tall and weighs only 70 pounds.

001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

What age and weight can a child use a booster seat in New Jersey?

A child that is age 8 or younger and weighs no more than 80 pounds can use a booster seat in New Jersey. Children over the age 8 must use a seat belt.


What age do you have to be to seat in the front of a car in NJ?

The New Jersey child passenger safety law states that children up to age eight or a weight of 80 pounds must ride in a federally approved safety or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no rear seat, the child must sit in the front seat secured by a safety or booster seat. So in NJ kids under the age of 8 and who weight less than 80 pounds must be in approved child seat or booster seat and should be in the rear seat if possible. Once they reach the age of 8 and are more than 80 pounds should still ride in a rear seat and use a seat belt. If there is no rear seat the child can seat in the front seat but must be properly belted in. Failure to comply with this NJ seat belt law could mean a fine of around $55 plus court costs from what we have read.


What age in Alabama can a child ride in a booster seat?

New laws require a rear-facing car seat for children until at least age 1 and at least 20 pounds. Then a forward-facing car seat until the child is at least 5 years old or weighs 40 pounds. A booster seat is then required until 6 years of age. To follow the law, in Alabama, a child can be no younger than 5 years old and use a booster seat.


What height can children not need a booster seat?

No more than 2 to 2-1/2 feet tall


How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Montana?

Kids under 6 years old or weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in a federally-approved safety seat or booster.


What is Missouri booster seat law?

As of August 28, 2006 the law is as follows: new Missouri law,effective August 28,2006, says your child must be in a booster seat if they are ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds, unless they are 80 pounds or 4'9" tall. Missouri's Child Restraint Law (RSMo 307.182) • Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat. • Children ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4'9" tall. • Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4'9" tall are required to be secured by a safety belt or buckled into an appropriate booster seat. The fine for violating this law is $50 plus court costs. From: http://www.modot.mo.gov/Safety/newlaws.htm


Can you use a booster seat in the passenger seat of car?

If you are still the age that you have to sit in a car seat then you can but you have to be taller than the airbag


What is the law in Wisconsin about children riding in the front seat of a vehicle?

children younger than 1 and all children who weigh less than 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing infant seat; children 1 through 3 years who weigh at least 20 pounds but less than 40 pounds are required to be in a forward-facing child safety seat; children 4 through 7 who both weigh at least 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds and who are less than 57 inches tall are required to be in a booster seat


What is the required weight for a child to sit in the front seat in New Jersey?

As of December 1, 2001, New Jersey's child passenger safety law requires: Children up to age 8 or 80 pounds must ride in a safety or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no back seat, the child must sit in the front seat secured by a safety or booster seat. Children under age 8 who weigh more than 80 pounds must wear a seat belt anywhere in the vehicle. Passengers age 8 to 18 (regardless of weight) must wear a seat belt anywhere inside the vehicle.


Is it true that you should not use an infant car seat more than 5 years old?

it is true that you should not use an infants car seat if they are over five they should then be moved on to a booster seat .


Your grandaughter is 3 and weighs 30 lbs 33inches tall can she use a booster seat?

does she have a penis that is more than ten inches long


What weight does a child have to be ride in the front seat in IN?

In the state of New Jersey:Children under 8 years of age who weigh less than 80 pounds to ride properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle.Sources:http://nj.gov/lps/hts/childseats/childseats_newlaw.html



What age should children come of there booster seats?

I think the Booster seat is do to weight but, I grew longer than fater so i got out when i was about 5 or 6.


What is the age where you can stop using a booster car seat?

The age in which a child can stop using a car seat or booster seat varies from state to state. In Michigan, the child safety seat law says that a child under the age of eight years old must be in a safety seat unless they are taller than 4' 9.


What is the age to come off a booster seat?

12. Or if u are over than 125cm wide. (tall)


How many babies die each year because they weren't in a car seat?

More than 250 babies and children are killed each year because if they weren't in a car seat, booster, or we're not wearing a seatbelt.


Who invented the baby car seat?

The first child safety seat appeared in 1962 in England. The inventor was Jeans Ames. There were child seats in cars since the 1930s, but the purpose was more as a booster seat to raise the level of the child than provide for the child's safety .


What is the height and weight recommended for kids to sit in the front seat of a car in Connecticut?

**There is no law in Connecticut that states that kids must be in the rear seat.Connecticut child restraint laws state that1.) younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds: must be in a rear-facing seat2.) 1-6 years old and less than 60 pounds: must be in a child-restraint system (includes booster seat)3.) 7-15 years old and more than 60 pounds: must be in an adult-restraint**That answer is for a child restraint.To sit in the front seat you must be atleast 13 years old . It is wise not to let a child ride in the front seat at all until the child is able to drive themselves around. The impact of an airbag alone can kill a child. But, it is relativly more safe at the age of 13.http://www.babycenter.com/404_when-can-my-child-safely-ride-in-the-front-seat-of-a-car_69792.bc


How tall for booster seat?

All children under the age of 12 will have to use some form of child car seat, unless they are taller than 135cm (4ft 5in).


How much is a ticket for a child with no car seat?

All children under 8 years old are required to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches.


How tall do you have to be without a booster seat?

All children under the age of 12 will have to use some form of child car seat, unless they are taller than 135cm (4ft 5in).


How much does a child have to weigh to sit in front passengers seat?

There are state and federal laws mandating a child's seating position and the use of child restraints systems. The current recommendation is a child restraint system (car seat / booster seat) for children up to 14 years of age or up to 80 lb.This goes hand in hand with children in the front passenger seat - as air bags and most child restraint systems should not be used together - therefore a child under 80 lbs belongs in the back seat, if available.Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) No. 213 - Child restraint systems, are recommended for children up to 65 lb. and at least 8 years of age.Laws that vary by state are similar to the following (state laws):11 years and younger and 65 inches or less must be in rear seat if passenger airbag is active11 years and younger and less than 100 pounds must be in rear seat if available8 years and younger and less than 4'9" must be in rear seat if available; rear seat recommended for children 9 through 12Younger than 1 and less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing infant seat (new research is recommending for children under 4 years to be rear facing)1 through 4 years and more than 20 pounds in a child restraint4 through 15 years who are either shorter than 57 inches or who weigh more than 20 lbs but less than 65 lbs in a booster.


Are high back booster seats safer than no back booster seats?

My understanding is that it's related to how the shoulder strap sits on the child and it may vary from vehicle to vehicle. The high back boosters generally have a strap holder that keeps the strap low enough to not cross the neck. There's some great general booster guidelines here http://www.safekids.org/safety-basics/big-kids/on-the-way/booster-seat-and-seat-belts.html


What is more healthier for your hair hair bleach or a hair booster?

Neither, but if you need or want one than the hair booster is better, and healthier.


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
Best foods for weight loss? Asked By Wiki User
How to lose belly fat? Asked By Wiki User
Unanswered Questions
Saan nagmula ang gitara? Asked By Wiki User
Uri ng tekstong nareysyon? Asked By Wiki User
Can you get Takis at 7 eleven? Asked By Wiki User