answersLogoWhite
Football - American

If you kick a field goal on 3rd down and miss can you re-kick it on 4th down?

535455

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-01-02 22:04:02
2012-01-02 22:04:02

Unless the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, no you can not re-kick on fourth down. Missing the field goal would turn the ball over to the opposing team.

or unless there is a foul and the down is replayed

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

If an attacker enters too soon... ... and the goal is made, then rekick. ... and the goal is not made, then IFK for defense. If a defender enters too soon... ... and the goal is made, then goal awarded with kick-off restart. ... and the goal is not made, then rekick. If both attacker and defender enter too soon ... then always rekick.

User Avatar

If the field goal is blocked, and you recover, you can re-kick another field goal. If you miss the field goal it is a turnover. So, it is best to kick your field goal on 4th down

User Avatar

When a team kicks the ball, it gives up possession of the ball. I'm not sure if you meant whether a team that unsuccessfully attempts a field goal on second down is entitled to try for another field goal on third down, or if you meant whether a team that successfully kicks a field goal on second down gets another attempt to kick a field goal on third down, but in either instance the answer is 'no.' You only get one kick at the ball.

User Avatar

You get a goal kick when the other team kicks the ball off the field where your goal is...then you put the ball on one of the corners of the goalie box and the goalie kicks it as hard as they can down the field

User Avatar

If an attacker [only] infringes the referee will wait for the result of the penalty kick. If the kick enters the goal, a rekick will be awarded. If the kick does not enter the goal, the restart will be an indirect free kick for the defense at the location where the player entered.

User Avatar

No, one attempt is all a team is allowed. If they have a bad snap, they can hold the ball, and then attempt a kick on 4th down. The team could also rekick if the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers.

User Avatar

You cannot score an own-goal directly from an indirect free kick or even a direct free kick. If the kick was taken from inside the kicker's penalty area and did not exit the penalty area before exiting the field, then the restart would be a rekick. If the kick was taken from outside kicker's penalty area or left the penalty area before exiting the field, then the restart would be a corner kick for the attacking team

User Avatar

Because after a touchdown, the player will kick into a field goal to 1 point.

User Avatar

No you can't. If you kick a field goal and miss it, it is considered a turn-over. ANSWER: Yes, but only if the ball never crossed the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers the ball.

User Avatar

No they cannot. Unless they tried for a fake field goal and didn't succeed, they wouldn't get the ball back. If the field goal is missed, it's a turnover at the spot of the hold.

User Avatar

By rule, if you kick the ball during a scrimmage down, it's called a "scrimmage kick." If a scrimmage kick off the ground goes through the uprights, it's a field goal. Technically, there is no rule that defines a field goal "attempt." You don't necessarily have to "attempt" a field goal when placekicking on a scrimmage down, but if your kick doesn't go through the uprights, the same rules apply as would for a missed field goal.

User Avatar

55 yard field goal as a sophmore.

User Avatar

no if you miss a field goal you don't get the ball back. if you miss the field goal because it is blocked and you recover the ball behind the lime of scrimmage you get the ball back as long as the kick was not attempted on fourth down.

User Avatar

No, its just like a regular field goal.

User Avatar

Generally, the holder kneels down six yards behind the line of scrimmage for a field goal attempt.

User Avatar

When they score a touchdown they have to kick it away and also they have to make a pat after the touchdown or if its a field goal

User Avatar

Yes, a goal can be scored "from goal to goal" in a number of instances. If a ball is in play and a goalkeeper kicks a ball from his hands (or even throws it) and it goes into the opponent's goal, it is ruled a goal. If a goalkeeper or other player takes a goal kick to restart play, this can result in a goal if it goes into the opponent's goal. (A goal kick is a type of direct free kick.) Any kick taken by any player while a ball is in play can score a goal if it travels the length of the field and goes in the goal. It may be very difficult to kick a ball that is actually on the goal line and kick it down the full length of the field and into the opponent's goal, but it is possible. Further, the Laws of the Game allow a goal to be scored in the instances cited providing no foul has occurred.

User Avatar

There is; A goal kick Drop Kick Grubber kick torpedo kick Up and Under Cross field kick

User Avatar

A goal kick is awarded to the defense when the ball completely exits the field across a goal line and was last touched by an attacker.

User Avatar

Yes, a goal may be scored from the other half of the field.

User Avatar

They add 17 yards to the LOS. They measure from the spot of the kick not the los. It would be a 37 yard kick

User Avatar

A field goal is when a team reaches 4th down and is close enough to their end to kick the ball through the up-rights, if it is successful the team gets 3 points.

User Avatar

they kick the football in the case of a kickoff, punt, turnover or field goal kick.

User Avatar

A goal kick is awarded when the ball completely exits the field across the goal line and was last touched by an attacker.If it does so between the goal posts, under the crossbar, and was not directly from an indirect free kick or a throw-in, then a goal is awarded and the restart is a kick off for the defense.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.