answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Im not sure when the fines is due. Depending on how long the lapse is, determines the fine. 0-10 days = $0 11-30 days = $50.00 and up from there

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-05-01 22:48:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: In Louisiana if there is a lapse in car insurance will there be an extra charge when you renew your vehicle registration?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Should your car insurance coverage lapse while your registration is still current the DMV may suspend the vehicle registration and charge a reinstatement fee?

two lack seventy three thousand two hundred eighty.


What is you have an accident and realized that your registration had expired what will happen in Massachusetts?

It's not that serious an offense. Typically a charge worded similar to "Failure to DIsplay Current Registration" or something similar to that. Your insurance card was valid...RIGHT? If not, that is another, different charge.


Do insurers charge more for auto insurance for vehicles with rebuilt titles?

If the vehicle has been declared as a "salvage vehicle", an insurance carrier would only want to provide liability insurance (depends also on your driving record). Anything repair/maintenance you do for that vehicle is almost your own risk. The vehicle has been fully paid for a depreciated by a previous insurance carrier.


Will you get charged for switching your insurance over from your previous car to your new car?

Most insurance companies do not charge you to switch vehicles, but the rates on the new vehicle will be different based on the year/make/model of the vehicle and what coverages you add to the vehicle.


Can an insurance company in NJ continue to charge a surcharge for an accident even if insurance points were reduced to 0?

Get proof from the vehicle department and drop it on your broker's desk.


Is it true that insurance companies will charge a higher insurance rate if I purchase a sports car versus a regular vehicle?

Not necessarily. Insurance rates are dependant on your driving record as well as your age, gender and even your credit. Generally speaking, owning an older "family" vehicle will have lower insurance rates.


Is it lawfull for your vehicle insurance to charge you for what they have covered?

Yes, That's how it works. The insurance company sells you coverage in the form of an insurance policy and you pay a premium in exchange for that coverage. If you don't pay for the coverage then your not covered.


What is a mdi adjustment on a car payment?

When you take a loan out on a car, the company that loans you the money requires you to carry insurance to cover the loss of the vehicle in an accident. If you do not provide them with information, or do not carry insurance, they will get insurance for you, and charge you the cost.


What happens if you don't pay your vehicle registration renewal on time?

Well your registration will expire, this might leave you open to a ticket by the police if you keep driving. Some states will charge you a little fine for reinstating but otherwise nothing earth shattering.


If I buy a car in Nevada from a private party do I need to pay sales tax we both live in California?

IN some states yes, the purchaser must pay a sales tax to the vehicle registration office. Call your local vehicle registration office and ask this question in your area. They will gladly tell you the answer, and if they do charge, ask them how they calculate the fee.


Will auto insurance cover a vehicle if an underage driver took it without permission and wrecked it?

If you are willing to charge this driver with auto theft it probably will. If not, the insurance company will assume you are giving him permission after the fact.


Does one need auto insurance to drive with a learners permit in Texas?

You will have to have insurance on the vehicle to drive in Texas any way you go about it. Texas is a state that has mandatory insurance coverage. The owner of the vehicle needs to add you as a driver and give them your license information. Most insurance companies do not charge anyone additional premium for a person with a learners permit. I assume your laws are that you can only drive with a licensed driver in the vehicle whenever you drive.


Can the loan company for your vehicle charge you for insurance?

Yes. If you are making payments to a car lender, you are generally REQUIRED to insure the vehicle. If at any point they discover that you are NOT insuring the vehicle, they have every right to force coverage as they have a financial interest in that car.


What if your insurance company wants to fix your badly damaged vehicle but you do not?

The insurance company usually has the final say because they are in charge of paying out any damages. In essence, the insurance company usually takes the side of what will cause them to pay out the least amount of money.


If a car was wrecked just before it was to be repossessed is it legal to collect the insurance claim and then turn the vehicle over to the bank?

You can collect it if you want, because the lienholder is going to charge you for not having insurance for as many months as they can, and the amount of what it will cost to get the vehicle repaired. I say give them the check, you will owe less.


how to be an independent stna and charge the insurance company myself?

Try to be yourself and get all the stna and charge the insurance company


You got a speeding ticket but in Connecticut you get no points for that will your insurance go up now?

If the violation shows on your drivers transcript, the insurance company has the ability to charge a surcharge points or not. Not all motor vehicle violations carry points.


Can you have multiple addresses on car insurance?

You can have two addresses, mailing address and garaging address. The garaging address cannot be a post office box. Insurance companies charge you based on the garaging address of the vehicle, not your mailing address.


Deciding on GAP Car Insurance in Florida?

Once a vehicle is driven away from the car dealership, it begins to lose value. Individuals who buy new vehicles can easily owe more than their vehicles are worth after owning them for only a few months. When a new vehicle is stolen or totaled, traditional car insurance will generally only pay the fair market value of the vehicle. The vehicle's owners are responsible for paying the difference between the vehicle's fair market value and the amount that is owed for the vehicle.Guaranteed auto protection (GAP) insurance protects vehicle buyers if their vehicle is lost or stolen by paying the difference between the fair market value of the vehicle and the amount that is still owed on the vehicle. Florida residents who are buying a new vehicle should consider buying GAP insurance. Buying GAP insurance is not always necessary, but in many cases, it is a good idea to purchase a GAP insurance policy.Where Florida Residents Can Purchase GAP InsuranceGAP insurance can generally be purchased at insurance companies that offer traditional car insurance. It can also be purchased at some car dealerships. Dealerships will often charge more for GAP insurance than car insurance companies, so it is important for insurance buyers to search for the best GAP insurance price and coverage.When Buying GAP Insurance is a Good IdeaSome situations where buying GAP insurance is recommended are when the vehicle buyer must pay the car loan for over three years, paid a low down payment, or will put a large amount of miles on the vehicle.GAP insurance only covers the cost of a vehicle if it is totaled or stolen, and it will sometimes pay the deductible for auto insurance. It is important to note that GAP insurance does not pay car payments, for repossessed vehicles, or the fair market value of a vehicle.When Buying GAP Insurance is UnnecessaryGAP insurance is unnecessary if a vehicle is worth the amount or less than the amount that is owed for its loan on the fair market. If the difference between the fair market value of a vehicle and the amount that is owed for the vehicle is small, a person may pay more for GAP insurance than the amount he or she will receive if something happens to the vehicle.


Is there a charge by a lien holder if you do not have insurance on the vehicle?

Of course. The financing agreement that you signed requires you to have full coverage insurance and to make sure that they receive a copy of the insurance with their name listed as leinholder on the policy. This assures that they are paid if there is an accident and that they are notified in case of a cancellation of the insurance. There are laws protecting the leinholder in every state. If you break the contract with the leinholder they have the right to repossess the vehicle as well as the put what is called forced place insurance on the vehicle. This insurance protect the leinholder's interest only in case of an accident or damage to the vehicle. This coverage is physical damage coverage only and does not include liability or any other coverages and the premium is very high. The premium is charged to your loan account.


Is your commercial vehicle insurance expensive?

It will be priced higher because it can include vehicles that perform special task. considering that a company will charge more for the different driving patterns from a normal car to a vehicle that is drove more often.


Will theft charge disqualify you from getting insurance license in utah?

It is possible for a theft charge to disqualify you from getting an insurance license.


Will theft charge disqualify you from getting insurance license in utah-?

It is possible for a theft charge to prevent you from getting an insurance license.


Can an unlicensed registered owner of a vehicle obtain insurance as required by the lien holder of the vehicle?

If you don't, they can charge you some very high rates for their insurance. If you have driven (and been caught) driving without license, you may have trouble. You can have a friend be the principle driver. I assume you can not get an occupational permit either, so you may wish to sell the vehicle. You can always buy it back when you can use it.


Does a seat belt ticket make car insurance go up?

Whether or not insurance rates are affected by seat belt violations depends on several factors. Moving violations can cause danger to people and property and are usually the ones that will change an insurance rate. the qualifications for a charge are the ticket has to hit the motor vehicle record. The state the violation occurred in must permit insurance companies in the state to charge for the violation. The insurance company has to consider the violation a risk.