Asked in
US Civil War
History of the United States
Abraham Lincoln

In what order did the southern states secede?


User Avatar
Wiki User
September 11, 2017 8:27PM

South Carolina on December 20 1861, Mississippi January 9 1861, Florida January 10 1861, Alabama January 11 1861, Georgia January 19 1861, Louisiana January 26 1861, Texas February 1 1861, Virginia April 17 1861*. Arkansas May 6 1861*, North Carolina May 20 1861*, and Tennessee June 8 1861*. Viginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee seceded after the South atacked Fort Sumter on April 12 1861 there were five bordering slave states that did not secede from the Union. These States were Missouri, Kentucky, West Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware. In essence the American Civil War was more based on economics than slavery, however the freedom of the Slaves was paved with a high price.