answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is based on your location. It's difficult to rate a vehicle being driven by a person in another state. Of course, insurance companies do it all the time for parents of college students, but even if they live in another state during the school year, would still consider their parents' homes as primary residences. This creates a "loophole" of sorts as far as insured drivers, insured vehicles, etc. go). The premium you pay is based on you and your location. Don't get yourself into a material misrepresentation situation where coverage is denied because you kept important information from your carrier. It is based on the garaging location of the vehicle not the state the vehicle is registered in. Some states like New York will fine you and suspend your drivers license if you have another state policy and have NY plates. That is why you have to surrender your plates to the DMV before or within 15 or 30 days of when you move. Or alternatively find an insurance company willing to write a NY policy for you while your vehicle is in Georgia or something. Good luck with that.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-16 19:30:13
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Nutrition

22 cards

If you were laid off and apply for insurance coverage on your wife's group policy do you have to answer a medical questionnaire

How many grams of cholesterol should you eat each day to maintain a healthy diet

What would cause a fluttering inside the ear canal

Why is beef fat a solid at room temperature

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
4.8
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
5 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In which state do you get car insurance?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is car insurance required in the state of MA?

Car insurance is required in Massachussets.


What is government car insurance?

The government requires you to get car insurance but they are not a car insurance provider. You could get insurance from Progressive, or State Farm, or Geico.


You bought a car and got a ticket for no insurance how long do you have to get insurance after buying a car?

This may vary from state to state. In Mass, you have to have insurance in order to register a car (the insurance company has to stamp the registration form)


Where is the best place to get car warranty insurance?

The best place to get car warranty insurance is Geico, Northwest Insurance, All State and State Farm. There are some other places that has car warranty insurance as well.


Can you get tags in the state of va with no car insurance?

No. No state allows this.


Where can I find affordable car insurance in Utah?

check online or google car insurance for your city and state


Does State Farm sell day car insurance?

"If you are renting a car, State Farm offers a plan for car insurance which includes $ 8 - 15 /mo. This would also be applied to a day car you'd want insurance on."


Can you drive a car which has no insurance policy but you have a insurance policy on another car?

Depends on the state and your insurance policy. call your local agent.


Which companies provide car insurance in the state of OR?

Companies that offer car insurance in Oregon are State Farm auto insurance, 21st Century auto insurance, Nationwide auto insurance, Mercury auto insurance, Farmers auto insurance, and AAA auto insurance.


Where can I find free car insurance thats good?

There is no such thing is free car insurance. You can recieve and free quote but you will have to pay for the car insurance that is needed in your state.


What companies offer the best college car insurance?

The best college car insurance is offered by companies such as State Farm and All State. You can get more information about college car insurance policies at their respective websites.


what is meant by Ohio car insurance ?

Ohio Car Insurance means having car insurance in the state of Ohio. Coverage is offered by a number of different companies including Geico, Nationwide, All State, and Progressive.

People also asked