Is Cool Whip lactose free?
Regular Cool Whip (Original) used to have no dairy except the milk protein. Now it contains cream and skim milk, however they still claim there are 0 grams of lactose (but I am skeptical to try this still). It looks like the lite version of cool whip still does not contain skim milk or cream.
Yes, lactose-free milk contains sugar. The difference between regular milk and lactose-free milk is the type of sugar they contain. Regular milk contains sugar in the form of lactose. Lactose-free milk contains an enzyme that breaks lactose into more digestible sugars. Otherwise, the amount of sugar in both is the same.
8oz by weight or volume? by volume 8oz is 1 cup. By weight every ingredient would be different I imagine 8oz by weight of cool whip would be a lot since its just whipped oil. ** According to Kraft's webpages, 8 oz of cool whip is about 3 cups (important to know if you're making the jello cool whip pie and didn't get the smaller tub of cool whip!). :)
Lactose free products are NOT the same as dairy free products. If an acidophilus supplement is called lactose free it means it does not do not contain any milk sugar, but it may contain isolated, lactose-free milk protein - so it would NOT be dairy free. A dairy free probiotic means it does not contain either lactose (milk sugars) or milk proteins.