answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.

2007-08-07 00:04:02
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

What is a sucide squeeze?

A suicide squeeze is when the runner on third breaks for home on the pitch, committing himself before the batter hits the ball. It is called "suicide" because if the batter misses the bunt and the catcher catches it cleanly, the runner will likely be out.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


If an interference is called on the batter does the batter get an at bat?

If a batter is called out for interference, it will be recorded as a put-out by the catcher and will go against the batter's batting average.


What is someone who catches butterflies called for a living called?

A professional butterfly catcher.


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


Is a batter awarded a base if the batter swings and hits catchers glove after ball has passed?

ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


What is the person behind the batter in baseball called?

The catcher is the person that is behind the batter however if you mean even further then the Catcher then it's the Home Plate Umpire and if you mean even further then next would be the various fans that are in the stands.


Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


If another fielder catches a fly ball after striking the first fielder is it an out?

As long as the ball does not touch the ground or a wall, the batter is called out.


When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout. If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference - - i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)


In baseball is a batter out if the catcher drops a third strike and the batter does not realize it was a dropped ball until he is almost to the dugout and then runs safely to first?

Once the player has headed for the dugout he can be considered out. However, if the umpire has not called the batter out yet, then he is still in play.


What is a strike zone?

When a pitcher throws a ball over any part of home plate before the catcher catches the ball.


Does batters interference have to be intentional?

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter. As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference


Does the batter have to move out of the way when third base is stolen?

If the batter remains in the batters box he is not required to move. In some instances it might be best not to move, as if you do move and then interfer with the catcher or the throw, you will be called for interference


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first base?

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.


If a Batter is hit by his own infield fly ball while running to base is he out?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.05(g) states that a batter is out when "His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder". If the fair ball touches the batter before it touches a fielder, the batter is called out.


Can you get four outs in an inning?

No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


What is flower batter called in Hindi?

it is called batter flour


Who gets credit for making the out when a batter is out of order?

By MLB rule, the fielders that made the putout/assist on the incorrect batter shall be given the putout/assist for the correct batter. If the incorrect batter reaches base, the putout is given to the catcher. MLB Rule 10.3(d) states ... "When a player bats out of turn and is put out, and the proper batter is called out before the ball is pitched to the next batter, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat and score the putout and any assists the same as if the correct batting order had been followed. If an improper batter becomes a runner and the proper batter is called out for having missed his turn at bat, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat, credit the putout to the catcher and ignore everything entering into the improper batter's safe arrival on base. If more than one batter bats out of turn in succession, the official scorer shall score all plays just as they occur, skipping the turn at bat of the player or players who first missed batting in the proper order."


Does a catcher interference call count against a batter as an offer or does it count like a walk as a no at bat or does it rather give the batter a hit?

I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike. Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game. On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.


What are three ways a softball batter can get out?

There are many ways that a batter can get out. * They can get a strike out. (The ball is thrown in the strike zone and the batter doesn't hit it 3 times) * They can get an out at first. (The batter hits the ball somewhere in the field and the fielder throws the ball to first before the batter lands her foot on the bag making a force out) * Be called out by umpire for leaving bag too early for a lead off.(If the batter gets a head start for the next bag they are going to before the ball leaves the pitchers hand then the batter is called out by the umpire)