Is common law marriage recognized by the United States?

In the U.S.A., marriages are recognized -- or denied recognition -- by the individual states. Some provision for "common law" marriage (also called "informal" marriage) is available in Alabama; Colorado; Georgia (if created before 1/1/97), Idaho (if created before 1/1/96); Iowa; Kansas; Montana; New Hampshire (for inheritance purposes only); Ohio (if created before 10/10/91), Oklahoma (possibly only if created before 11/1/98. Oklahoma's laws and court decisions may be in conflict about whether common law marriages formed in that state after 11/1/98 will be recognized.); Pennsylvania (if created before 1/1/05); Rhode Island; South Carolina; Texas; Utah; and the District of Columbia. Each state has its own specific requirements and procedures for establishing a common law marriage. [Living together openly, presenting yourselves as married, is not sufficient in any state.] Article IV, Section 1 of the U.S. Constitution states: "Full faith and credit shall be given in each State to the public acts, records and judicial proceedings of every other state." Thus, convictions, judgments, marriages, and other legal agreements that are issued or entered into in one state must be recognized by the other states. However, the force and application of Full Faith and Credit has been questioned in the issue of Gay marriages and in the issue of common law marriages; consequently, people should not assume that such marriages will be recognized in every state.