Asked in
Vegetarianism
Food Science

Is confectioners glaze vegetarian?

Answer

User Avatar
Wiki User
October 07, 2011 8:23PM

Confectioners glaze is a by-product of the Lac beetle. Lac is the generic name of the natural resin gathered by the Lac beetle that thrives on various trees and shrubs in India, Burma, Indochina, and Siam.

The Lac beetle converts the sap of the trees into resin. It is very similar to a bee's production of honey and is called "transferred nectar." The Lac resin is collected, crushed, washed, dried, and made into pure food glaze. The Lac beetle is not harmed in any way.