Rules of the Road
State Laws

Is it illegal for an 18 year old to drive alone to work with a learner's permit in California?

Answer

User Avatar
Wiki User
04/22/2010

Yes it is illegal.

The Driving Rules Network has a detailed explanation by state for what is called Graduated Driver License Laws

In California you may not drive unsupervised between 11 pm-5 am . Your passenger restrictions are first 12 months-no passengers younger than 20 (limited exception for immediate family) Students enrolled in driver education in California may drive while supervised by an instructor. License applicants who do not take driver education must wait until age 18 for a license. They are not required to go through an intermediate license stage.