answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The age of majority in all but four states is 18, in Alabama and Nebraska it is 19, in Mississippi and Pennsylvania it is 21. What action can be taken if a minor leaves home w/o parental permission depends on what actions the parents choose to take and how authorities decide to resolve the situation according to the laws of the state.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-09-12 16:21:14
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it legal for a 17-year-old to move out with parental consent and how do you prove it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is the legal age for tongue piercing in VA?

With parental consent, it's around 13 or 14, I think. Without parental consent, it's 18 (with an ID or something, to prove your 18).


How old do you have to be to get tattoo?

Most places 18+ - some allow parental consent... Your legal guardian must be with you and have legal documents (birth certificate and license) to prove relationship


Can you get a tattoo at 13?

Depends... Only some tattoo parlors allow parental consent. Your legal guardian must be with you along with the legal documents (birth certificate and license) to prove your relationship..... otherwise you have to be 18


Can a 16 year old live with there grandmother in nc with out the parental consent?

No, not unless the grandmother obtains legal custody through the court, and in order to do that she would have to prove that the parents are unfit.


How old do you have to be to have your tongue pierced?

Most places 18+ ... some will allow you to have parental consent. Your legal guardian must be with you at that time with legal documents to prove your relationshipDepends on state laws. Most of the time its 18 years of age.


If I'm pregnant at 17 can I get married without parental consent in Maryland?

Maryland may issue a marriage license in the case of pregnancy. You would have to check with your local licensing office for the requirements necessary to prove it. Otherwise you need parental consent.


Can a minor sixteen years of age move out and live on their own with parental consent as long as they prove they can provide for them self?

As long as they have parental consent, a 16 year old can live where they want. However, it does not mean the parents have no responsibility for the welfare of the child.


Can a single father migrate without authorization from mother?

Not with the child unless he has sole legal and physical custody and the mother has no parental rights (and he can prove it with a court order). He cannot deprive the mother of her child without legal authority. He needs consent of the mother and the court with jurisdiction over the child. See related question link.Not with the child unless he has sole legal and physical custody and the mother has no parental rights (and he can prove it with a court order). He cannot deprive the mother of her child without legal authority. He needs consent of the mother and the court with jurisdiction over the child. See related question link.Not with the child unless he has sole legal and physical custody and the mother has no parental rights (and he can prove it with a court order). He cannot deprive the mother of her child without legal authority. He needs consent of the mother and the court with jurisdiction over the child. See related question link.Not with the child unless he has sole legal and physical custody and the mother has no parental rights (and he can prove it with a court order). He cannot deprive the mother of her child without legal authority. He needs consent of the mother and the court with jurisdiction over the child. See related question link.


Can a 16 year old get a tattoo in new york?

If you have consent from your legal guardian & the legal documents to prove your relationship


What is the legal age to get married in the states?

18 in every state except Mississippi, where it is 21. Most states will let you get married at 16 or 17 with the consent of both parents or a legal guardian. Several (mostly Southern) will let you get married as young as 16 without parental consent, but you must prove that you or your wife is either pregnant or that you already have a child together. Under extraordinary circumstances, you can get married as young as 14 in some states with both parental AND court approval, but I wouldn't count on this.


Can you move out of the house at seventeen to live with a fiance?

Yes if you have parental consent, if you dont have your parents behind you you can go get an amancipation from the courts, but you have to prove you can make it with your fiance.


Is there a state you can get married at the age of fifteen without parental consent or having a court order?

No there is not. It is possible in a few without parental consent but you have to see the court and prove pregnancy and explain why you want to get married so young. Marriage emancipates you so they are not that keen on letting a 15yo parent-to-be be all on her own.


Im 15 and wanting to move in with a 19 year old guy can that be approved without a parent consent?

No that cannot be approved without parental consent because you are a minor and he is an adult. If your parents say that its alright to move in with him, then you have to get your parents to sign a legal document stating that he is your new guardian. Also he has to prove that he has a job, home, and make sure you stay in school.


What age do you need to be to get married without parental consent?

It depends on the state you live in. In North Carolina you must be 18 to marry without parental consent and have to bring a birth certificate to prove your age. You can not be married if you're under 16 unless you have a court order in NC> 18


Do you need both parents for parental consent in Michigan?

It will depend on the licensing requirements for your location and may be affected by a custody order. And if you are 18 or older, you don't need their consent. Contact your local licensing office, normally in the county courthouse. They will tell you what you need to have and how to prove it.


Who has legal custody in Arizona if never married?

The mother. The father have to prove paternity by a DNA test and can then get his parental rights and petition for custody, visitation and pay child support.


Can a 17-year-old get emancipated without parents permission in Colorado?

Yes, a 17 year old can file to be emancipated without parental consent. The minor must prove understanding of emancipation and that they can support themselves.


Can you be emancipated without your parents' consent?

Check the laws of your state. I believe, in some states, that parental consent is a requirement, while in other states it's not (as long as you meet all of the other requirements and can prove to the court that emancipation is truly in your best interest/there is a legitimate reason that it would be better for you to be emancipated).


Can you be emancipated in Oregon without your parents' consent if you are an A student and have a job and are able to find a place to live on your own?

Parental consent is not a requirement for emancipation in Oregon, but it is a factor that the court considers when deciding rather or not to grant emancipation. You would have to prove to the court that there is a legitimate reason that emancipation is truly in your best interest.


How old do have to be to get a tattoo?

Well, in Florida, you have to be 18 to get a tattoo without parental consent, but if you take a parent with you, you can be pretty much any age. They will need to bring your birth certificate and they will need to bring their I.D. to prove that they really are related to you.


Can a 17 year old get married to a 20 year old with out her parents permission in Nevada?

if she is pregnant or can prove she has a living child she may get married without parental consent or if she can claim independent student status she may get married.


Who has legal custody rights until judges says different if the parents are not married he is on the birth certificate and is married to someone else?

If you were not married when the child arrived the legal custody lies with the mother. The father have to prove paternity in court before he can get his parental rights.


How can you terminate the fathers parental rights in Wisconsin?

prove in court that he is unfit


Moving our at 17-years-old in Michigan?

you can move out at age 17 without parental consent. But! they have to know where you are staying. The only way they can have the police pick you up is if they can prove your in danger. other then that the police wouldn't even bother with the situation.


Legal age to get a piercing without parental consent in Ontario?

In Ontario you must be 18+ to get genitals, nipples, etc. pierced. You can get other piercings such as your navel at the age of 16. You MUST have photo i.d to prove your age. If you go to a piercing place and they do not ask you for i.d, it is a better idea to go else where..... If you are under the age of 16, you need a parent or gaurdian to accompany you to get a piercing.