answersLogoWhite
Basketball Rules and Regulations
Lacrosse
Chuck Norris

Is it legal to dribble high enough to go over a defender then you go around him and catch the ball but do not dribble it again?

444546

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2006-02-03 01:54:37
2006-02-03 01:54:37

yes it is eleagle It's legal, but it's not a stategy that anybody would use because a high dribble is a great way to get the ball stolen from you. Unless you're playing against a midget.

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

A double dribble is when you are dribbling and catch it but then you dribble again

User Avatar

a person can try to dribble the ball with two hands or can dribble then pick up their dribble and then dribble again

User Avatar

It means to dribble the ball and pick it up again and dribble it.

User Avatar

It is when you put to hands on the ball then dribble again.

User Avatar

A double dribble is when you dribble the b-ball pick it up and hold it then start dribbling again. Another example of a double dribble is when you dribble the ball with both hands, and you will be called by doing it

User Avatar

A double dribble is when you dribble the ball, pick it up with both hands, and then dribble again. A travel is when you pick the ball up and take a step that is not a pivot.

User Avatar

It is when you get the ball and dribble than if you pick up your dibble then dribble again

User Avatar

The first Double Dribble is when you start dribbling and then stop, and then start dribbling again. The second double dribble is when you dribble the ball simultaneously with both hands and when you dribble from right to left every dribble.

User Avatar

There are 2 ways to double dribble. One way to double dribble is to dribble the ball pick it up and start dribbling again. The other way is to dribble with both hands at once.

User Avatar

If you haven't dribbled yet you can make as many as you want and dribble. If you have just stopped dribbling you cannot dribble again regardless of the number of pivots. You will need to pass the ball, shoot it, or bounce it off an opposing player to dribble again

User Avatar

yes he can. when the ball touches the defender possesion switches over to the opposing team witch allows the player the ability to regain the ball and continue on dribbling. though the defender could steal that ball. WORD TO THE WISE: most basketball players will not turn their back on the ball, and throwing the ball at a defender facing you can result in a technical foul.

User Avatar

if the ball is knock out of your hands you can pick it up and dribble again, but if you just drop it and pick it up that will be double dribble.

User Avatar

A player who is dribbling the ball is "alive". But if you stop dribbling, and hold it up with 2 hands "dead". then if you dribble again, that's Double Dribble.

User Avatar

a player putting both hands on the ball and dribble or a player stops dribbling and starts again

User Avatar

Three steps without dribbles, the ball's turned over. You can pivit, though. After you use your dribble, you can keep one foot on the ground and move the other. You cannot dribble again, but you can pass or shoot. If you pass and get it back, you can dribble again.

User Avatar

Traveling: you cannot take over 2 steps with the basketball in your hands with out dribbling Double Dribble: After you get the ball and dribble, if you pick the ball up again you cant dribble

User Avatar

The only air dribble I remember seeing was in the final game of the 1958 season between South Dakota State College (now SDSU) and the University of South Dakota. It was used to perfection by Clayton Kiewel of USD as he was dribbling down the floor with Harley Peterson of SDSC defending near the end of the game. In the middle of his dribble Kiewel tapped the ball in the air and touched it again before it hit the ground and continued his dribble on in for a game winning lay-up. When he tapped up the "air dribble" it left the defender spinning around looking for the basketball and Kiewel continued the drive uncontested. Beautiful play even if it did beat my team. USD won the right to go to the national NAIA tournament and won it that year because of that particular play.

User Avatar

Yes. According to NBA, NCAA, and High School Rules, if the dribble is stopped, and you hold onto the ball, you can begin to dribble again once an opposing player makes any contact with the ball in your hands. This includes but is not limited to attempting to strip or knock away the ball from your possession. Even if you retain possession, you are free to dribble again.

User Avatar

If you dribble with one hand you don't have any rules other than: If you hold the ball and move it is travelling. If you stop dribbling then start again it will be a double dribble. I hope this helps narrow it down

User Avatar

move left and left then right and again and again

User Avatar

A double dribble is when the person with the ball picks up the ball and stops dribbling it. After the person stops dribbling the ball, the person starts again without another person handling the ball. A legal dribble must never stop. The ball must be continually bounced and once the ball stops bouncing the player can not dribble again.

User Avatar

in basketball you can't walk with the ball, dribble with 2 hands at the same time, and dribble stop and dribble again. In soccer u can't use your hands unless u r goalie, and in both don't foul them

User Avatar

double dribble is a basketball term it means to dribble ( bouncing the ball while running) thethe ball then stop bouncing the ball and start dribbling again. It can also mean to bounce the ball with 2 hands but that hardly ever happens


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.