Baseball Rules and Regulations

Is it permitted for a pitcher to throw with either hand at his sole discretion and are there any limitations to his doing this or changing?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-06-16 21:36:30
2010-06-16 21:36:30

Pitchers that are left handed place their left foot on the pitching rubber. Pitchers that are right handed place their right foot on the pitching rubber. There is no rule that states which foot the pitcher must place on the pitching rubber at any one time. So if a pitcher wanted to throw lefty for one pitch and righty the next, as long as he conforms to the rules, he is allowed to do so.

Actually in accordance with the rules, once the pitcher starts one way with a particular batter he must remain pitching that way until the end of the at bat. He may, however switch on the next batter.

To the above paragraph, where in the MLB rulebook can I find that rule?


I am not sure if that is in the rulebook yet.. It just recently came up in a minor league game where the pitcher and batter kept switching back and forth for 10 minutes to get the righty/lefty or righty/righty type matchup they were wanting and to end the circus the home plate ump made the rule and it was later that day approved by the league


Related Questions

User Avatar

If the game is being played with the Designated Hitter rule, he does not bat at all. If the game is not being played with the Designated Hitter rule and the new pitcher simply replaces the prior pitcher, the new one bats in same place in the batting order as the former pitcher. If the pitcher comes in on a double switch, the new one may bat in place of the former pitcher or of the other player being removed at the manager's discretion.

User Avatar

Rule 3.05(c) states: If an improper substitution is made for the pitcher, the umpire shall direct the proper pitcher to return to the game until the provisions of this rule are fulfilled. If the improper pitcher is permitted to pitch, any play that results is legal. The improper pitcher becomes the proper pitcher as soon as he makes his first pitch to the batter, or as soon as any runner is put out. Rule 3.05(c) Comment states: If a manager attempts to remove a pitcher in violation of Rule 3.05 (c) the umpire shall notify the manager of the offending club that it cannot be done. If, by chance, the umpire-in-chief has, through oversight, announced the incoming improper pitcher, he should still correct the situation before the improper pitcher pitches. Once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher.

User Avatar

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score.

User Avatar

Yes, there is no restriction on changing pitchers during an at bat, unless the current pitcher just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he faces. The pitcher must face at least one batter before he can be replaced, unless the pitcher is injured, or ejected from the game.

User Avatar

In the event that a winning team's Starting Pitcher is removed from a game before he can pitch the necessary 5 innings to qualify for a win and his team never gives up the lead or never lets the opposing team tie the score then the decision on the Winning Pitcher is at the home team's official scorer's discretion, the field umpires have nothing to do with the decision. According to the rules the official scorer has to make a judgment call on which pitcher pitched the best or most effectively when coming into the game.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.