answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Yes. Its called a "Spitball". A spitball is when a pitcher either licks his fingers, spits on the ball, or uses any substance (i.e.: cooking oil, gel deoderant) that has a slickness to it. This causes the pitcher to give an extra break on a pitch. (i.e.: Instead of the normal 22 rotation spins on a curveball, ittl go 25-30 times for more of a break)

AnswerRule 8.02 of The Official Rules of Baseball:

" The pitcher shall not --

(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.

PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president."

There is no reference to the umpire penalizing a pitcher for licking his fingers other than the umpire shall immediately call a ball. There is reference to repeat offenders being subject to a fine from the league president.

basicaly if ur going to lick ur fingers do it on in the dirt arount the rubber do it on the grass

UPDATE:

Starting with the 2010 MLB season. MLB rules state that a pitcher my go to his mouth to lick his fingers on the mound as long as he is not on the rubber. The pitcher must whipe his hand againt the uniform before returning to the rubber. If this act is performed either on the rubber or he does not whipe his fingers this will be called a balk

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-10 21:18:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: Is it true that a pitcher can be penalized by the umpire for licking his fingers if he has been warned?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Can a pitcher lick his fingers in little league?

Techniqually he can, but after licking him hands he musct absoulutly must wipe it off so that the umpire can see it. Area's that can consist of this are like on the thigh of the leg or ide of the thigh.


What is the penalty if a pitcher gets caught licking his fingers?

the pitcher is allowed to lick his fingers only while off the entire pitching circle (all the dirt around the mound). if the pitcher is caught licking his fingers on the mound, it is considered a Balk and eith a ball is awarded to the batter (no men on base) or the runners on base are allowed to advance.AnswerRule 8.02 of The Official Rules of Baseball:" The pitcher shall not --(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president. "The penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers on the mound is a ball. If the batter has 3 balls on him this would be considered the fourth ball and the batter would be credited with a base on balls. There is no penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers while not on the pitching mound as long as he wipes his fingers off prior to stepping onto the pitching mound.update:starting with the 2010 season, a pitcher can go to his mouth while on the mound as long as he is not on the rubber, and he makes an obvious motion of whiping his hand on pants before returning to the mound. This was changed in order to speed up the game


Who catches the ball thrown by the pitcher in baseball?

umpire


Can you make a sentence out of umpire?

The umpire stood behind home plate, waiting for the pitcher to send the ball his way.


Can an umpire eject a pitcher in baseball?

Yes, in major baseball an umpire can eject a pitcher. Last year as an example, a Yankee pitcher was ejected because the home plate umpire checked to find pine tar on the pitchers belt. This is illegal for a pitcher to have any foreign substance on his body or uniform or cap. Another example is, the umpire's opinion, a pitcher has hit too many batters after being warned. That's an ejection as well. Additionally, any player or manage or a pitcher who argues balls and strikes called by the home plate umpire is an automatic ejection.


Did the umpire stand behind the pitcher in professional baseball?

Probably!


What is the word that the umpire calls when a pitcher throws a strike ball?

Strike.


Can a batter be awarded first base if the umpire feels that the pitcher is intentionally throwing at him?

No.


Is it a trip to the mound when the manager goes to the plate umpire to remove his pitcher?

yes


Can a baseball pitcher request the umpire to clean off home plate?

Sure. And he can request a new ball, too. But the umpire is not required to honor either request.


How long does a batter have when the umpire says Batter up?

The MLB Rule says:6.02(a): The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat.6.02(c): If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter's box during his time at bat, the umpire shall order the pitcher to pitch, and shall call "Strike" on each such pitch.So there's no rule that says how long the batter has to step into the batter's box, only that he do it "promptly." But as an umpire, I can tell you the umpire will not put up with much messing around on the batter's part. If he tells the batter to step in, and he doesn't, the batter will get penalized.


What happens if a hit ball hits the umpire standing behind the pitcher?

you play it as a live ball


Does umpire have to call timeout each time ball comes to infield in softball?

The umpire does not have to call time when the ball is in the infield, BUT when the pitcher has it in the circle so the play is OFFICIALLY dead.


When a man left home running he ran a ways and then turned left ran the same distance and turned left again when he got home there were 2 masked men who wre they?

The catcher and the umpire (at a baseball game.)


If a coach completely removes a pitcher from the game and he forgets that he removed him and the pitcher pitches is the pitcher illegal and should a forfeit be called?

Rule 3.05(c) states: If an improper substitution is made for the pitcher, the umpire shall direct the proper pitcher to return to the game until the provisions of this rule are fulfilled. If the improper pitcher is permitted to pitch, any play that results is legal. The improper pitcher becomes the proper pitcher as soon as he makes his first pitch to the batter, or as soon as any runner is put out. Rule 3.05(c) Comment states: If a manager attempts to remove a pitcher in violation of Rule 3.05 (c) the umpire shall notify the manager of the offending club that it cannot be done. If, by chance, the umpire-in-chief has, through oversight, announced the incoming improper pitcher, he should still correct the situation before the improper pitcher pitches. Once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher.


What pitcher lost a perfect game by a miscall of the umpire in major league baseball in 2010?

Armando Galarraga.


If an umpire or catcher throws ball past pitcher after a new ball is used or if a ball is checked by ump and given back to catcher can baserunners run?

An umpire is not supposed to throw the ball back to the pitcher with runners on base. If he does the ball is dead from the time he touches it to the time the pitcher has the ball on the pitching mound. So the runners cannot advance.


Does pitchers back foot have to break contact with rubber for him to throw to first?

No. Remember there are left handed pitchers and right handed pitchers. Almost every umpire will declare a right handed pitcher to have balked if his foot doesn't disengage from the rubber when he throws to first. A left handed pitcher simply steps and throws to first. His back foot usually never disengages from the rubber. To over simplify - a pitcher is called for a balk when the umpire judges the pitcher to have deceived the runner in some way. So, anytime a baulk is called, an umpire made a judgement call.


Does the run count in a school game where the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher he misses it the umpire picks it up and tosses it back to the pitcher while the runner on third steals home?

If the umpire picked it up the run should not count because the umpire had probably called a timeout before he picked it up. If not the run should not count anyway because it is interference on the umpires part.


Who can call time in baseball?

Anybody, even a manager, can REQUEST that time be called. However, it is entirely at the discretion of the umpire on whether play can, indeed, be suspended. For instance, if a batter steps out of the box and requests that "Time" be called, but the umpire thinks the batter is simply stalling, the umpire can refuse to call "Time" and instruct the pitcher to pitch. If the batter is out of the box, every pitch done by the pitcher is considered a strike.


Softball babe Ruth can a player be walked without the pitcher throwing the ball and no foul was called?

This happened in the Caribbean baseball league a number of years ago. One of the managers took exception with a call that the home plate umpire made and refused to allow his pitcher to pitch the ball to the following batter. After waiting for a couple minutes, the umpire instructed the pitcher to pitch. The manager told the pitcher not to. the umpire then started calling balls. "Ball one.....ball two.....ball three....ball four, take your base. Next batter. Ball one...." Quickly the manager got off the field and allowed his pitcher to pitch.


What are the positions in baseball on the field?

catcherpitcher1st base2nd baseshort stop3rd baseleft fieldcenter fieldright fieldbatter1st base coach3rd base coachplate umpire1st base umpire3rd base umpireoutfield umpirebatter on deckThis is the lineup in MLB.


How much time is an incoming pitcher allowed to get to the mound?

According to the official MLB rules, section 8, an incoming pitcher is allowed 8 pitches while play is suspended, not to exceed one minute of time. If the pitcher is brought into the game in an emergency situation (i.e. injury or ejection), the umpire-in-chief may allow him as much warm-up as the umpire deems necessary.


How many batters can a pitcher hit?

There is no rule that governs how many hit batsman a pitcher can have. In practically, the team's manager may remove him if the hit batters become excessive...and the umpire may eject the pitcher if he feels the pitcher is intentionally trying to throw at batters.


Does the play stop when a live ball is returned to the pitcher's glove regardless of whether the pitcher is on or off the mound in softball?

The Play is over when the umpire calls time. Does not matter where the ball is. the Umpire has to determine if the play if over.