Oats and Oatmeal

Is oatmeal gluten free?

121314

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2016-04-22 16:34:54
2016-04-22 16:34:54

Although gluten is not part of the ingredients, there is the possibility that oats could contain trace amounts of gluten from wheat, rye and barley. This can occur if the oats are grown in fields or transported in vehicles that once contained these other grains. At Quaker, we've taken extra care to make sure that no stray grains have made their way into varieties of Quaker Gluten Free Quick 1 Minute and Quaker Gluten Free (Original and Maple Brown Sugar) Instant Oatmeal.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2010-09-27 00:44:15
2010-09-27 00:44:15

Oats contain a protein very similar to gluten; however, many of those with celiac do not react to this- based on sensitivity. Also, many oats are processed WITH wheat, so it is best to avoid oats unless you an be 100% certain they are not processed with wheat, rye, barley, or any other gluten containing crop.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


No. Oatmeal by itself is gluten free, but the manufacturing process contaminates it with wheat. Only eat oatmeal that is certified gluten free.


Dunkin' Donuts oatmeal is not gluten-free. Dunkin' Donuts research team is looking into making all of their products with a gluten-free option.


No, there is no gluten in Quaker oatmeal.


Yes, the oatmeal contains gluten.


Yes but you have to be sure that the oatmeal is certified gluten free. It should say so on the package. Most readily available oatmeals are often highly cross contaminated with wheat so you can't eat them.


Oats do not contain gluten, but you can assume all oats are contaminated with gluten (because they are cut on the same mills as wheat and other gluten grains) unless they are certified gluten free.


Yes. Most Likely, all Oats and oatmeal do. Make sure they say "Gluten-Free" . You can buy Gluten-Free Oats...available at most Health food stores. People on Gluten free diets tend to not get as much fiber in there diets. But, there are a lot of grains out there, made by "Bob's Redmill" . I mix them in and make muffins. You can Mix in Gluten free Flax seeds, GF Oats, Quinoa to a Gluten Biscuit mix and make all kinds of pancakes, muffins and breads. Have fun!


Yes, but there are some recipe with no gluten.


barley does contain gluten. oats do not contain gluten inherently, however, most oat crops are grown in close proximity to wheat fields so cross-contamination can occur frequently. Thus, oats are not recommended in a gluten free diet. However, Bob's Red Mill has a gluten free product line which includes gluten free oats which are grown in fields designated solely for oats. Oat products that say "wheat free" are not always free of gluten contamination. Only eat oat products that say "gluten free". WOW brand makes a great Oregon Oatmeal cookie. hope that helps. for more details on gluten and gluten containing foods, you can go to www.celiac.com


Oats are naturally gluten free. However, gluten containing grains like wheat, rye and barley could have been grown in fields nearby and come into contact with the oats during harvest or transportation. As the world's leading experts in oat milling, Quaker developed a process to ensure strict standards for Gluten Free are met. Look for Gluten Free labels on packages of Quick Quaker Oats and Instant Quaker Oatmeal: http://www.quakeroats.com/product/hot-cereals/gluten-free-oatmeal.aspx


Read the ingredient list on your product. Pure Shea butter alone is 100% gluten-free BUT oatmeal is NOT gluten-free. Other ingredients such as vitamin E can be derived from wheat-germ oil and that contains gluten. So I would look for a product that is oat, wheat, barley, rye, vitamin E/tocopherol FREE. The smaller the ingredient list the better.


There are several foods like gluten free rice cakes, cereal, oatmeal, wheat bread, and fat free and reduced sugar ice cream.


If you are gluten intolerant you should be avoiding wheat, flour, most cereals, pasta and bread. You may also find that you should be avoiding oatmeal because some are not gluten free.


Try corn bread. No! Not all corn bread is gluten free. Lots of corn bread mixes in the stores are made with wheat flour as well. Your best bet is to buy corn meal and a gluten free flour to supplement it to make your own corn bread. Rice flour, Quinoa flour, and gluten free oatmeal flour are good choices.


Oatmeal is often grown and / or processed near wheat making the chances of cross contamination high. It is possible to buy gluten-free oats where extra attention has gone into assuring there has not been any gluten contamination. Bob's Red Mill and Trader Joe's are two brands that have GF oatmeal.


No pastas are not gluten free but you can get gluten free pasta.


Sangria is as gluten free as gluten is free of Sangra


Oats are naturally gluten free. However, gluten containing grains like wheat, rye and barley could have been grown in fields nearby and come into contact with the oats during harvest or transportation. As the world's leading experts in oat milling, Quaker developed a process to ensure strict standards for Gluten Free are met. Look for Gluten Free labels on packages of Quick Quaker Oats and Instant Quaker Oatmeal: http://www.quakeroats.com/product/hot-cereals/gluten-free-oatmeal.aspx


Gluten free refers to food that does not contain gluten.


no and it's loaded with gmo corn products and chemicals. anyone that eats this thinking it is good for them is crazy.


If you have a wheat allergy you can eat Oats that are specifically labeled GLUTEN FREE. You SHOULD NOT eat oats that are NOT specifically labeled "gluten free" as these oats contain wheat. This is because oats that are not gluten free use the same equipment to be processed as is used on wheat. Gluten free oats only use equipment for processing that NEVER touches wheat. Therefore they are safe to eat and are not contaminated with wheat.


No Butterfingers are not gluten free. They contain corn flakes which contain gluten. Therefore they are not gluten free. Actually the corn flakes they use are gluten free http://www.specialtyproductsinc.net/ Butterfingers are listed by Nestle's gluten free candy list. Corn gluten is not believed to be a problem for people on gluten-free diets.


gluten free is spelled "sans gluten".


Gluten free actually means no wheat, barley or rye. Malt is typically made from Barley and contains gluten.


Corona is not gluten free.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.