Depends on the state you live in. Check the list. Statutes of limitations for delinquent debt State Written contracts Oral contracts Promissory notes Alabama 6 years 6 years 6 years Alaska 3 years 3 years 3 years Arizona 6 years 3 years 6 years Arkansas 5 years 3 years 5 years California 4 years 2 years 4 years Colorado 6 years 6 years 6 years Connecticut 6 years 3 years 6 years Delaware 3 years 3 years 6 years D.C 3 years 3 years 3 years Florida 5 years 4 years 5 years Georgia 6 years 4 years 6 years Hawaii 6 years 6 years 6 years Idaho 5 years 4 years 5 years Illinois 10 years 5 years 10 years Indiana 10 years* 6 years 6 years Iowa 10 years 5 years 10 years Kansas 5 years 3 years 5 years Kentucky 15 years 5 years 15 years** Louisiana 10 years 10 years 5 years Maine+ 6 years 6 years 6 years Maryland 3 years 3 years 3 years Massachusetts+ 6 years 6 years 6 years Michigan 6 years 6 years 6 years Minnesota 6 years 6 years 6 years Mississippi 3 years 3 years 3 years Missouri 10 years 5 years 10 years Montana 8 years 5 years 8 years Nebraska 5 years 4 years 5 years Nevada 6 years 4 years 6 years New Hampshire 3 years 3 years 3 years New Jersey 6 years 6 years 6 years New Mexico 6 years 4 years 6 years New York 6 years 6 years 6 years North Carolina 3 years 3 years 3 years North Dakota 6 years 6 years 6 years Ohio 15 years 6 years 15 years Oklahoma 5 years 3 years 5 years Oregon 6 years 6 years 6 years Pennsylvania 4 years 4 years 4 years Rhode Island 10 years 10 years 10 years South Carolina 3 years 3 years 3 years South Dakota 6 years 6 years 6 years Tennessee 6 years 6 years 6 years Texas 4 years 4 years 4 years Utah 6 years 4 years 6 years Vermont 6 years 6 years 6 years*** Virginia 5 years 3 years 6 years Washington 6 years 3 years 6 years West Virginia 10 years 5 years 10 years Wisconsin 6 years 6 years 6 years Wyoming 10 years 8 years 10 years *Six years if contract is for payment of money. ** Five years if promissory note is added to a bill of sale. + The applicable statute of limitations in Maine and Massachusetts on a debt owed to a bank or on a promissory note signed before a witness is 20 years. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit.14, s 751; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, s 1. ***Vermont's statute of limitations on a promissory note signed before a witness is 14 years. Source: Money Troubles: Legal Strategies to Cope With Your Debts, 9th edition (Nolo, 2003). http://www.nolo.com. Used by permission
READ you contract. Likely not on a 1st payment default.
READ your CONTRACT. IF the contract is in DEFAULT, the collateral CAN be repossessed.
READ your contract. If you are in DEFAULT of the terms, you can get repoed.
YES, making the down payment is part of the contract and you are in default on it.
Its NOT a matter of HOW late, just that you ARE late. Read your contract. That should explain when you are in DEFAULT.
YES, if you are in default of the contract, the collateral can be repossessed. Read your contract again.
It looks borderline MEAN, but if you were late, you were in DEFAULT and the lender has the right to repo when you're in default. Some lenders (BHPH lots) are MORE aggressive in their repo policies that others.
Read the fine print of your contract carefully. I have never heard of a vehicle leasing/purchasing contract NOT having a first payment default clause.
If you are in DEFAULT of the contract, the collateral can be repoed.
IF you were NOT in DEFAULT, then it was a wrongful repo and you shouldn't have to pay. Call a local attorney NOW.
Vehicles cannot legally be "repossessed" due to a lack of insurance. Re-possession can occur only when there is a default in the payment contract and the original owner (the lender) recovers their property from the defaulter.
READ your lease. The lender can repo as long as you are in DEFAULT. As long as there is money owed on a contract, the collateral can be repossessed IF the contract is in default. Subject to some state guidelines.
Her account went into default for non-payment
As long as you continue to make the payments, they would have no reason the instigate a repossession. When a vehicle is financed or leased, the creditor has an interest in the vehicle and rights under the contract you signed. If you are in default of the contract either by default in payment or otherwise (failure to insure or other terms) the vehicle can be repossessed.
The car will probably be repossessed.
The lienholder has an option to repossess when you become deficient on your payments for as long as you owe money on that vehicle. If you skip your last payment, that car can be repossessed.
Read the contract you signed. it likely states that when in DEFAULT, the lender can repo the collateral. Default is when you dont pay a payment as agreed or any other condition of the contract. No rocket science here.
No, a car can not be repossessed due to having no registration. A car can be repossessed for non payment. The police can have a car towed to an impound lot if there is no registration.
It depends on you locatily, but in general, yes, if you are behind on your payment, your vehicle can be repossessed.
It means if you had a loan payment and you missed the payment. That means your loan is in default. It also means an accepted outcome, i. e. "The default setting for my computer's firewall is medium."
Yes. If the payment is made to the finnance company.
If there are two individuals listed on the title of a vehicle as primary and joint, they are both responsible for the payment of the loan. If the primary defaults on the payment, the joint owner is responsible for payment. If both parties default, the vehicle can be repossessed.
Very little ! If you default on the payments, the finance company are quite within their rights to confiscate the vehicle. The camper does not become your property until you have made the final payment !