Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell
Baseball
Baseball Rules and Regulations
Hypothyroidism

Is there an official definition of a 'runner's fielder's choice'?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2011-10-05 03:54:05

This is a tricky one. The easiest way to think of it is one runner is out attempting to advance on a wild pitch/pass ball while another runner advances safely.

The reason they don't simply score it as "advanced on wild pitch/pass ball" is because the official MLB rules* state that if an out occurs on what would normally be ruled as a wild pitch or pass ball (throwing someone out at home who was trying to score on a ball that got away from the catcher, for example), then it's not actually a wild pitch/pass ball because an out was made on the play. The other runners who advance safely on the play are said to have done so on a "runner's fielder's choice."

*See the official comment for MLB rule 10.13 (Wild Pitches And Passed Balls).

001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions


What is a fielder's choice?

Official Baseball Rules section 2.00 Definition of Terms: A fielders choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner.


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


Can stealing home be a fielders choice?

No..these are two different official scoring designations and have no relationship to each other. See Official Rules of Baseball on steals and fielding scoring methods.



Is it a hit when an infield attemps a fielder's choice and the runners are all called safe with no errors?

No matter what, in a fielders choice play the batter is given and 0 for 1 in the record books. It is based on the thought that if the defense had attempted a play on the batter he most surely would have been out. You misunderstood the question. If a fielder's choice is attmpted, but all runners are save and no error is scored it's a hit ... since the fielder's choice didn't actually happen.



Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


How can fielders choice cause a balk?

It can't ... a balk can only be committed by a pitcher.


Does beating out a double play count as a hit?

No it goes down as a fielders choice.


How many ways can a player reach first base?

1. Base Hit 2. BB 3. HBP 4. E 5. Fielders Choice 6. Dropped 3rd Strike 7. Catchers Interference 8. Runners


Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat if a run scores on the play?

A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.



Runners on 1st and 3rd 2 outs Batter hits a broundball to the 3rd baseman who looks to second but the second baseman isn't covering The 3rd baseman then looks to 1st but has no play What is the ruling?

This would be a put in the book as a fielders choice -- no hit or RBI granted to the batterThen you tell your infield to wake up and make mental note so you can rip into them once they are in the dugoutin order for that play to be called a fielders choice there has to be an out made ... it's scored as a infield hit ... with the bases loaded ...Correction:A Fielders Choice does not have to result in an out -- I have attached the Official Score Keepers definition of a fielders choice (in the example given for the question.. this would fall under section b -- the 3rd baseman cleanly fielded a ball and was going to go to 2nd for the put out rather then going straight to 1st)Fielders Choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers(a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


If a run is scored via a fielders choice is it earned?

No. A run is only unearned if an error or passed ball (but NOT wild pitch) results in a run scoring that would not have scored (in the official scorer's judgment) had the play been made cleanly.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Does batter get a rbi on fielders choice?

Yes, the batter will usually be given an RBI on a Fielder's Choice in the event of a run scoring the only way the home team's official scorer will not give him an RBI on a Fielder's Choice is in event of the runner in the scorer's viewer not originally being able to score on a player and was only able to do so as a result of the defensive team's miscue.



Seven ways to reach first base?

Hit, hit by pitch, intentional walk, cathers interference, pinch runner, errror, fielders choice, dropped third strike, balk, overturned out call, fielders obstruction,


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes. If in the Official Scorer's opinion, the batter would have been out at first base had the fielder chosen to make that play then the play is scored as a fielder's choice. The batter reaches first base safely, but is not credited with a hit and is charged with an at-bat. He's officially 0 for 1 on that play.


Do errors and fielders choice factor into batting average?

Yes, if a hitter hits into a fielder's choice he gets credited for an at-bat and is NOT credited with a hit. Whether its an error or a fielder's choice the players batting average WILL decrease


Does a fielders choice count as a plate appearance?

yes. you ground to short with a man on first and they get the force at second... you are 0-1


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
Best foods for weight loss? Asked By Wiki User
How to lose belly fat? Asked By Wiki User
Unanswered Questions
Saan nagmula ang gitara? Asked By Wiki User
Uri ng tekstong nareysyon? Asked By Wiki User
Can you get Takis at 7 eleven? Asked By Wiki User