answersLogoWhite
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

My girlfriend is 16 I was 18 i got her pregnant now her mom wants to press charges is that possible or is there a 3 year leeway thing in Illinois?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2008-05-15 03:30:09
2008-05-15 03:30:09

Here in Pennsylvania, you can have sex with a 16 year old and not face criminal charges no matter how old you are. In Illinois the Age of Consent is 17. As for your case, I don't know if there is a "Romeo & Juliet" provison. That is a law that allows someone over the age of consent to have sex with someone who is under the age of consent as long as the two of them are a certain number of years apart (usually 2-4 years). If there is no such law in Illinois, then I recommend that you tell angry Mom of the teenage Mom-to-be that you are really sorry for impregnating her daughter. Tell angry Mom that you are totally in love with her daughter and want to make a life with her. It would be nice that this were true (and I hope it is). Also tell her her that if her grandkid is a boy, the two of you plan on naming it after angry Mom's father and if it is a girl then you plan on naming it after her mother (i.e. the baby to be's great grandmother). If it really looks like that angry Mom wants to throw you in jail, then propose to her daughter and Mary the poor girl. If you don't love her than you can always get divorced a couple of years later. At least this way you will avoid a criminal record. As for child support. The girl and the State can still come after you whether you marry her or not, so you have nothing to lose by making her your wife. I just hope you two can make it work, and laugh about this issue with your girlfriend's mom at your kid's college graduation (trust me: you may be only 18 now, but in what just seems like 5 years you will realize that you are 40 and wonder where all the time has gone)

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

yeah she can press charges its statchatory rape charges that's 10 or more years in prison

User Avatar

depends , if the parents of your girlfriend decide to press charges... but if cop's find out they can legally ask the D.A's office to charge you .. i went threw it myself i would know

User Avatar

It depends on his age if he is 4 years older or if she is under 16 then yes

User Avatar

No, that would not be legal. The fact that she is pregnant does not matter, but could result in criminal charges for sexual crimes.

User Avatar

i am pretty sure, since the age for her to make her own choice is either at the age of 16 or 18

User Avatar

No, the age of consent is 17 there unless you are a figure of authority, then it's 18.

User Avatar

You didn't give your state in the question and many states have varying laws on this subject.

User Avatar

Once charged in Illinois, there is no limit. A statute of limitations only applies before charges are brought.

User Avatar

Titanium ions can have 2+, 3+, or 4+ charges.

User Avatar

No - she is a minor, and as such is still under the legal age of consent. She is still the legal responsibility of her parents. Additionally - if YOU were the one who got her pregnant - you could be facing some serious charges !

User Avatar

It depends. If the parents press charges, there is a chance of legal repercussions. You should talk to your girlfriends parents and let them know. If they just find out, there is a chance they might not be as forgiving.

User Avatar

NO, the only way if someone your age was going to get any minor pregnant is if the parents press charges.AnswerThe age of sexual consent in AZ is 18. If she got pregnant at 17, then obviously there was sex before she turned 18. Can the father be charged even if the girl's parents don't want it to happen? Yes, he can, because it is the state, not the parents, that presses charges. Is it likely that he would be charged in this situation (where she was very close to the age of sexual consent) if her parents don't want it to happen? No, it's not likely, but it is possible.

User Avatar

You better have a long talk with your parents. There is most likely criminal activity involved, since she is under the age of consent. The parents could bring charges against you with the police.

User Avatar

Yes, fraud, embezzlement and theft are all possible charges.

User Avatar

They can get them pregnant, that does not make it legal. It could result in criminal charges and even dishonorable discharge for the soldier.

User Avatar

It is possible, but it will require some careful reading of the specific laws for the jurisdiction in question.

User Avatar

Up to 30 gs is legal and no charges will be proccessed.

User Avatar

Greg Inglis - punching his girlfriend in the face.

User Avatar

only if the parents press charges. but unlikely if you are already 18 so no.Answerno because you have to be 5 years or older Tobe locked up for teens

User Avatar

In Kansas the charges would have to be brought within two years. If the charges have already been made, or the conviction entered, the limit does not apply.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.