Asked in
Bleach (Anime and Manga)

On bleach what is a bankai?


User Avatar
Wiki User
November 09, 2009 2:04AM

In the anime Bleach there are three levels to each Zanpakuto. The first one is sealed, this looks like a regular Katana. Next is Shikai, this form is the "First Release". In special cases like Ichigo's the Zanpakuto stays in Shikai form. Last is the Bankai and the answer to your question. Bankai is the "Second Release". It grants the user the ability to use their spiritual powers to the limit.