Best Answer

The powers that are exclusively held by congress include ability to change taxes, impeach the president and declare war. These powers are expressed by the constitution.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-08-22 03:04:40
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
39 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Powers exclusively held by congress
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When Congress chooses to act exclusively in an area in which the states and the national government have concurrent powers Congress is said to have what the area?


What military powers does Congress have?

The U.S. Constitution gave Congress many important military powers. Congress can declare war exclusively. Congress is charged with raising and maintaining the armed forces and making the rules for the military.

What term best describes the powers held by Congress?


Which of the enumerated powers deals with money?

The United States Constitution grants the authority and power towards printing money exclusively with the Congress. These powers are enumerated in Article I Section 8.

What are the powers given exclusively to the states called?

Reserved powers

What were some of the powers exclusively held by Congress?

Some of the few I can think of off-hand: The ability to declare war The ability to decide/change taxes The ability to impeach the president Approval of supreme court justices The ability to make laws

How does Article 1 limit congressional power?

It limits congressional power that the powers Congress are to exercise are exclusively those specifically provided for in Article I. This has been interpreted to mean that Congress, and only Congress, is vested with the legislative power.

How can the President check the powers of congress?

President doesnt check the powers of congress, congress checks the powers of the President

What are two executive powers of congress?

The President has Executive powers, Congress has Legislative powers.

What is the definition of 'Congressional Reassertion of Power'?

when congress sets the bounds by which the branches are held where congress defines the boundaries of government. For example, the War Powers Act

How would you describe the different powers that are held by congress?

What are the key points relating to congress' s power to tax, borrow money, and regulate commerce

Which document states the powers of congress?

The Constitution states the powers of Congress.

What clause that allows congress to have unlisted powers?

Unlisted powers of congress

What did the Watergate scandal affirm about the authority and limitations of the US president?

The president is held in check by the powers of Congress and the courts.

What did the Watergate scandal affirm about the authority and limitations of the U.S. president?

The president is held in check by the powers of Congress and the courts.

What kind of powers are given exclusively to the federal government?

enumerated powers :) G.A.C

What article holds the power of the congress?

Article I, Section 8 of the US Constitution establishes the powers held by Congress. These powers include being able to lay and collect taxes, borrow money on credit, and to coin money.

What are the powers granted to congress by the constitution?

Powers granted to Congress by the Constitution includes general powers, enumerated powers, and implied powers. For example, Congress has the power to collect taxes and pay the debts.

Powers given to the president by congress are called?

Powers given to the president by congress are called expressed powers.

What does powers denied congress mean?

it means the powers congress doesnt have -elizabeth :)

Are all powers of congress specifically listed in the constitution expressed powers or reserved powers?

Expressed powers are powers of Congress specifically listed in the Constitution.

Which article are the powers of the congress listed in?

Congress' powers are listed in Article one of the Constitution. Specific powers are enumerated in section eight. Congress has expressed powers that are written in the Constitution and implied powers that are not expressed.

What are the powers held by congress?

Burrow money, regulate federal land, control taxation, and to control trade ( domestic and foreign )

What Powers given to Congress are called powers.?

National powers

What powers are held by states in the federal systems?

Article 1 Section 8 of the Constitution gives the federal government 18 "enumerated powers" of the Congress. The 9th and 10th Amendments restrict the congress to ONLY those functions, and reserve all other powers to the states or to the People.