Statute of limitations on assault in California?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

In California it will depend on what the specific charges being brought are. Murder and other offenses that are punishable by death or life in prison, have no statute of limitations. If the felony can result in over 8 year in prison it is set at 6 years. Less that that they are set at 3 years. Misdemeanors will be set at 1 year unless a minor is involved which makes it 3 years.
2 people found this useful

What is the California statute of limitations for assault charges?

You have two years to file a civil case against someone for assault. That's not the case that involves someont going to jail, but the case that involves getting money for your injuries from the person who injured you. The criminal statute of limitations depends on the severity of the injury.. Calif ( Full Answer )

What are the statute of limitations for physical assault in Missouri?

The statue of limitations in the state of Missouri for a physicalassault is 1 to 3 years depending on if the assault is classifiedas a misdemeanor or a felony. If the physical attack results in nophysical injury it could be classified as a misdemeanor.

What is the statute of limitations for assault?

The statutes vary depending on the state or country. It will also depend on what level of crime assault is defined at in that location. It might be a felony and it could be anything from two years to no limit at all. .

Is there a statute of limitations in Virginia for domestic assault?

I arrested my husband this weekend for assault which happened 12 days ago. I was afraid that it would be too late. However, the policeman told me assault charges can be filed for up to a year. Obviously, if you have pictures and/or witnesses, it would help your case.

What is the statute of limitations on assault?

The statute of limitations varies by jurisdiction. Typically felony crimes like assault have longer periods of time before the charges are barred. Some states do not have a statute of limitations on felonies. Check your state or country to see what they say.

What is the statute of limitations for assault in Georgia?

The question needs to be more specific, like what type of assault and the age of the victim. For example, if the person is a MINOR and SEXUALLY assaulted, both state and federal law might come into play. With the exception of death penalty cases, the statute of limitation for most crimes is seven ( ( Full Answer )

What is the statute of limitation on felony assault?

The statutes on felonies will vary depending on the jurisdiction. It will also depend on what type of crime it is defined as at that location. It could be anything from two years to no limit at all. Some states to do not apply a statute of limitations to felonies..

Statute of limitations assault ny?

It will depend on the level of crime associated with the assault.In New York it would be either five years or two years.

What is the statute of limitations on assault charges in Colorado?

In Colorado it will depend on what the specific charges are but in general the statute of limitations for assault will be set at 10 years. Other felonies are set at 3 years. Misdemeanors will be set at 18 months unless it is 3rd degree sexual assault which is set at 5 years. There is a 5 year extens ( Full Answer )

What is the statute of limitations on assault in South Carolina?

South Carolina's statute of limitations are very basic and simple. They have decided that no statute of limitations shall apply to any crime. Assault charges can be brought at any time in the lifetime of the accused perpetrator.

Statute of limitations assault in VA?

It will depend on the level of crime associated with the assault.In Virginia it would be either three years or one year.

What is the statute of limitations for assault in Florida?

Florida's statute of limitations is based on the seriousness of the crime charged. Felonies that result in death or is a Capitol or life felony has no limit. The level of assault charged will determine the limit. The other felonies could be 2, 3 or 5 years depending on the specific charge. Absence f ( Full Answer )

What is the statute of limitations for assault and battery in California?

The statute of limitations in criminal law is the amount of timethe prosecutor has to file charges. In the state of California,felony assault and battery has a 3 year statute of limitations,while misdemeanor assault and battery has a 1 year statute oflimitations.

What is the statute of limitations for assault and battery in Colorado?

In Colorado it will depend on what the specific charges are but in general the statute of limitations for a felony is not in place. For sexual crimes it will be set at 10 years. Other felonies are set at 3 years. Misdemeanors will be set at 18 months unless it is 3rd degree sexual assault which is s ( Full Answer )

What is the statute of limitations for sexual assault?

It can depend on which state is being asked about - all are different. ALSO: If by "assault" you actually mean " criminal sexual assault or rape ," many states have no limitations on these offenses.

What are the Statutes of limitations for assault in mass?

Six years. Ch. 277§63 FELONIES: Murder: none; robbery, intent to rob or murder with dangerous weapon: 10 yrs; rape, assault; with intent to rape, rape/abuse/assault of child: 15 yrs.; other: 6 yrs. ; indecent assault on child, on mentally retarded person, rape/abuse/assault of child, kidna ( Full Answer )

What is the statute of limitation in KY for assault?

It will depend on whether or not it is a felony. Kentucky would typically consider assault as a felony, but it could be a lessor crime. As such, Kentucky has no statute of limitations for felonies..

What is the statute of limitations on assault and battery in Florida?

Felony that resulted in death: none; perjury in official proceeding that relates to prosecution of a capitol felony: none; Capital or life felony: none; 1st degree felony and 2nd degree felony for abuse or neglect of aged or disabled adult: 5 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; other felony, violation of securiti ( Full Answer )

Is there a statute of limitations for assault and battery in Alabama?

Alabama has a long list of felonies, including using violence, with no set statute of limitations. For those that do it is set at 3 years. The statute is met once an indictment or warrant is issued, regardless of whether it can be served immediately or not.

What is the statute of limitations for aggravated assault in tn?

Tennessee uses an A-E system for felonies. Aggravated is a "D" so it' should be 4 years, but check with counsel as things are always changing and DA may/may not have used the "D" it's usually only for females and if sex comes into play somehow. See article.